cheerful boy

超越療愈自閉症

[更多理論及疑團 | 更多文章]

2006年末,我與一位特殊教育的老師在討論有關自閉症之治療,她引述了許多歡樂而可親自閉症兒童的事例(他們明顯曾接受早期療育計畫),這位老師說:若孩子有親善待人表現,就是說他的自閉症已經痊癒。

我對這片面的觀點感到錯愕,對我來說,自閉症不是一套(錯誤的)行為而已。就算能夠(例如通過藥物、行為治療、或是密集的社交技巧訓練)使自閉症行為「正常化」,然而,他們仍是受自閉症意識操作過生活。

【注:我無意冒犯,只是想說明而已。】打一個比喻:試想象馬戲團的猩猩接受訓練後成功演活一個紳士的模樣,但牠還是一頭猩猩,牠擁的是猩猩之本能、思想和感受,牠甚至可以裝模作樣去約會女孩子,但牠真正需要的是一頭雌性猩猩;即使藏身於人的裝扮下,牠還是沿用猩猩慣用的方式來解決牠的問題。

比方說:許多人認為戲劇有助我們瞭解別人,驟聽之下似乎對自閉症兒童適合不過。然而,對那些尚未認識「自我」及「人類意向」的人來說,演戲並沒有甚麼幫助。他們自己仍未懂得自己如何「作為一個人」,怎能代入別人的角色中?

話說回來,自閉症人士也不乏好演員的,因為對他們而言,戲劇實現了一場社交美夢。他們處於一個隻按計劃(劇情發展)而改變的場景,每個人所說的話都是依劇本對白。只要知道甚麼時候作甚麼事、說那些話,甚至每個細微動作;沒有錯誤的餘地、或突發的情況,自閉症人士可以精密計算每個細節,不容有失,因此不會闖出亂子來。.

不幸的是,大部份的人無法理解自閉症意識的本質,只視為一種必須修正的大腦神經意識障礙。如此,他們沒考利到如何利用自閉人士的專長,為他們創造機會為社會貢獻。若靠客觀的外在行為去衡量治療是否成功,等於以籌措善款的多寡,而不是以其如何改善貧苦人士的生活去衡量一項慈惠事業是否成功!

 

解決方法
愛因斯坦有一次提到:如需成功解決問題,就得應用和產生問題不同的思維模式才行。真正能夠「療治自閉症」良方是超越「成為正常」範圍,擴大自閉症意識以對應非自閉人士之意識。及某程度上倒過來的交叉互應。

當我們要跨越兩族鴻溝隔膜,我們必須意識到這不是誰的錯。每個人只是在自己情況和觀點下做了自己認為最好的事,問題只在於我們判斷別人理該如此。因此,我把自閉症工作視為人類邁向世界和平演進之一部份。「與神對話」這系列叢書使我感悟,其中有話說:

每項抉擇中,我們只須問:「我究竟是誰?是我選擇現在這個樣子嗎?」

每當我撫心自問這些問題時,我發覺自己並非真正的「自閉症康復者」,正如我並非真正的「電腦專家」一樣。但別人稱我為這樣(自閉症康復者、電腦專家)。為了簡化問題及方便生活,我也許會這般稱我自己、甚至讓別人這樣介紹自己。但這些都不是我:我不僅此而已。

自閉症不是我真正的工作,正如電腦程式編寫也不是我真正的事業。人們不能認識到我真正的潛能,他們不會知道我活在地球上的意義。直到此刻,我生命工程的成就仍不為人所知,許多人仍然否定我的潛能。就算我成功之後,他們仍繼續說我是個特殊個案而否認他人的能力和成就。

 

當我說自己是個「自閉症康復者」,就好像在說:「我是個癌症康復者,我戰勝了癌病。」或像誓死頑抗的軍人說的:「我們為祖國的自由戰爭到底。」

消除癌症後如何?他們是否要多活40年嗎?戰爭過後又如何?僥倖存活下來的要面對瘡痍滿目的遍地哀鴻。自閉症征狀除去又如何?孩子卻仍受困於自閉和非自閉之間。

癌症病人不應為克服病魔而活,頑抗的鬥士也不應只為國家獨立而生,孩子和他的家庭同樣不必為自閉症康復過他們的生活。

他們概不止此,他們有更大的潛能!他們的掙扎不是生命的結局,那只是故事的開端。

 

自閉症已不是我的實在事兒,我既然無法應付不切實際的事物,索性隨意把它擱置一旁。也無需自己扯上標籤,譬如說「康復者」。但與此同時,卻有千百萬人正在日以繼夜與自閉症搏鬥,自閉症對他們仍是那麼真實;跟他們一起工作,我只好「重拾」自閉症患者的身份。

但我不會這般形容自己,因為我想別人認識到自閉症人士不是只得這三方面:

  1. 行為
  2. 技能
  3. 診斷標籤

許多人(包括專家、家長、自閉症人士)對自閉症的說法都很有限,因此,他們衡量進度時,只能看以上三方面擴充了多少。

  1. 行為有甚麼改變?
  2. 學了多少新技能?
  3. (憑征狀表現)診斷的準確程度是多少?

 

由於以上有限維度的探討,我對許多假設和策略不抱樂觀。

實在沒有必要進行關注自閉症的公眾教育運動,我們不是有種種從關注世界貧窮到使用清潔劑的廣告嗎?人們需要嶄新而發人深省的事物。試想象如果有一套關於自閉症人士內在意識之高質素電影可能造成的震撼吧!

實在沒有必要使自閉症專業人士表演其技能以顯出他們的能力。我認為這樣只是貶抑了自閉症人士的真正潛能,就如我們訓練動物在馬戲場上表演,骨子裏卻輕看動物的真正潛能一樣。動物並不屬於馬戲團,牠們與生俱來的天賦本能,卻無法在馬戲團中施展出來。自閉症人士不是生來表演地球人的帽子戲法的,他們的技能是叫我們曉得解決地球人類的問題。

實在沒有必要使自閉症人士到臺上談及自己如何愛家人,以表明他們懂得關心周圍的人。依我看來,這些演講是粗疏地覆述社會規範,輕看自閉症人士一份真正的愛。自閉症人士可能不會表達他們對家人、種族和朋友的愛與情誼,但他們有追求知識、新事物或整全人類的熱忱,且讓他們成為新世代的工程師或聖賢吧。

實在沒有必要叫自閉症人士學習良好社交技巧,或使他們獨立生活;他們也不需要治療或大學學位來補救自己的缺陷。只要在適當社會制度和安排之下,他們也可以過著有意義的生活,為社會作出貢獻。

 

人類要到甚麼時間才會明白這一點?何時才不再叫自閉症人士埋藏自己潛能,模仿非自閉人士的生活,接受如下訓誨:

  1. 勤力讀書,無謂玩弄聰明去作新發明
  2. 與人類,而不是與系統設計,打交道
  3. 找個女朋友,而不是生命熱愛
  4. 找份普通的工作糊口養家,舍為人類研究如何解決影響地球的問題
  5. 追求平凡,舍突出表現

因此,我要用我自己為榜樣顯示出如何「衝破思維匣子」,以自己的風格改變世界。衝破自閉症只是我任務的起點而已。

[更多理論及疑團 | 更多文章]

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

Beyond Cure Autism

[ More Theories & Myths | More Articles ]

cheerful boy

In late 2006, I was discussing with a lady from a special education school about autism treatment. Citing examples of cheerful and sociable autistic children (who apparently underwent early intervention programmes), she stated that if a child shows affection and interacts with people, this means that he is cured of autism.

I was rather taken aback by this superficial view. To me, autism is more than a set of (mis)behaviors. While it is possible to "normalize" the autistic behavior of autistic children (via medication, behavioral therapy and intensive social skills training), yet they will still operate with an autistic consciousness.

[No offense intended; this is just an illustration.] As an analogy, imagine a circus successfully training an ape to behave like a gentleman. But he is still an ape. He has ape instincts, thoughts and emotions. He can pretend to date a female human but he will only be interested in female apes. Hidden under human guises, the way he solves problems would still be that of how apes solve problems.


 

For instance, many people believe that theatre helps us understand other people. This sounds perfect for autistic children. However, acting will not have any effect on those who have yet to understand the concept of "self" and "human intentions ". How can they step into the character when they have no idea what is it like to "be a person" themselves?

Yet autistics may be very good actors, because to them, theatre is a social dream come true. They are placed in surroundings that can only change according to plan, people who speak according to script. They are told exactly what to do and speak, down to the last gesture. There is no room for error or spontaneity and therefore no room for messing up the plan that they have painstakingly computed.

Unfortunately, instead of understanding the autistic consciousness as it is and creating social systems for autistics to contribute to our society, most people cannot help but see it as a disorder of the Neurotypical consciousness that must be corrected. Yet, measuring the success of a therapy using objective behavior is like measuring the success of a charity based on the amount of money it has raised, rather than how much its work has helped improve the lives of the needy.


 

The Solution

Albert Einstein once observed that we cannot solve a problem using the same frame of mind that created it. Instead, we must use a different frame of mind. A true "autism cure" goes beyond "being normal". It is about expanding the autistic consciousness to become compatible with NeuroTypical consciousness, and to some extent, vice-versa.

When we heal the divide between any two peoples, we come to realize that there is nothing wrong with anyone. Everyone is only doing the best they can from their own perspective and situation. What is wrong is our judgment of what we think the other party is about. Thus, I see my autism work as part of Humanity's evolution towards World Peace. Conversations with God, a series of books that have inspired me, told me that:

In every choice we only need to ask:
"Is this Who I Really Am? Is this who I now choose to be?"

When I ask that question, I find that...
I am not a functionally recovered autistic, just as I am not a computer expert. 

People may call me that.
And sometimes, for convenience, I may call myself that.
And to facilitate my life work, I may even ask others to call me that.

But these are not me.
I am more than that.

Autism is not my true work, just as computer programming is not my true career.
People do not know my true potential.
They do not know why I am here on Planet Earth.
And until the moment I accomplish my life work, many will continue to deny my potential.  
Then after that, they will continue to deny it for everyone else by saying that I am a special exception.


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

When I say that I am a "functionally recovered autistic",
It is like someone saying, "I am a cancer survivor. I have battled cancer".
Or the resistance fighters saying, "We are fighting for our motherland's freedom".

What happens after their cancer is gone, and they must live another 40 years more?
What happens when the war is over, and the survivors are left with a devastated and barren land?
And what happens when the autism is gone, and the child is caught in the limbo between autistic and NeuroTypical?

The cancer patient should not live for the sake of conquering cancer.
Neither should the resistance fighters be living for the sake of independence.
Neither should the child and his family be living for the sake of autism recovery.

They are more than that.
They have far greater potential than that.
Their struggle is more than the last chapter in their story; it is only the first.


 

Autism is no longer my reality.
Since I cannot resist something unreal, I simply set it aside.
I do not need to label myself in relation to it, such as by using the word "recovery".

But at the same time, millions of people still struggle with autism.
Autism is still very real to them.
When I work with them, I use my old labels.

Yet I do not describe myself like one, because…
I am living proof that autistics have more than 3 dimensions:

  • Their behavior
  • Their skills
  • Their diagnostic label

Most people describe autism in such a limiting manner: Professionals, parents, volunteers and even autistics themselves. Hence, people measure progress by how much they enlarge this box of 3 dimensions:

  • The change in behaviors
  • The learning of new skills
  • The accuracy of diagnosis (based on syndromes)

 

I take a dim view of many common assumptions and strategies because they are based on these limiting dimensions.

It is not necessary to have autism awareness campaigns to educate people about autism. We already have enough advertisements ranging from world poverty to washing detergent. Instead, people wish to be entertained by something novel and insightful. Imagine the impact of a blockbuster movie about the inner consciousness of an autistic.

It is not necessary to show off the skills of autistic savants to show that autistics are capable. To me, that trivializes the true potential of autism, just as we trivialize the true potential of animals by making them perform in circuses. Animals don't belong in circuses; they can't use the skills and instincts gifted by Mother Nature there. Autistics are not on Planet Earth to perform hat tricks: their skills are there for us to use to solve Humanity's problems.

It is not necessary for autistics to go on stage and talk about how much they love their family to show that they care for the people around them. To me, talk is cheap and parroting social norms trivializes the true expression of autistic love. While autistics may not express social or intimate love for their own friends, race and family, we can see their higher passion for knowledge, inventions or for Humanity as a whole. Let them be the saints and engineers of the New Era.

It is not necessary for autistics to have good social skills, or be able to live independently. Neither do autistics require therapy or university degrees to make up for their deficits. Given the suitable social systems and arrangements, they can live meaningful lives making many contributions to Humanity.


 

When will people recognize that? When will people stop telling them to bury their potential and live like NeuroTypicals with the following advice?

  • Studying hard instead of inventing smart
  • Connect with people, not systems
  • Get a girlfriend, not a life passion
  • Work to feed one's family, not Humanity (through engineering & inventing)
  • Aspire to be normal instead of extraordinary

Thus, I use my life to demonstrate how to "think out of the box". Like many before me, I shall change the world in my own style. Emerging from autism is only the beginning of what I shall do.

[ More Theories & Myths | More Articles ]

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies