發揮內心力量

[ 更多文章 ]

於2008年五月,我參加有關處理壓力的課程。那位語帶溫柔的女輔導員邀請班上學員分享他們如何處理生活中的壓力。正如大多數新加坡的人,沒有人主動回應。我舉起手來,說:『我原是有志到海外演說,激勵人心,但礙於家庭的壓力,我把這抱負放棄了,可是在新加坡卻未能一展所長,在我感到沮喪之際,便背誦「求平安禱文」… 』。

我仍有要說的話,但輔導員已向我致謝,即時論定我是尋求宗教信仰去應付壓力,是一種「內向」方式;她隨即找其他人作答,他們的回應是:

  • 購物
  • 吃巧克力
  • 到戶外緩跑
  • 旅遊
  • 與朋友交談
 

這些活動其實不會帶來任何內省或長久滿足,它們只是把我們真實的感覺抽離自己,徒然掩飾著我們生活中的失意而已。然而,奇怪的是:那位輔導員不但沒有指出其他方法以照亮我們內在的生命,她甚至提到自己也常用類似行動。連負責治療思維紊亂的專業人士竟作如此想,彷佛借著外在活動去分散沮喪是理所當然地的事。有點像汽車修理技師告訴我們:汽車噴出黑煙一事可以置之不理,只須注意周圍美景和朋友談天便可。

假如能讓我有多點說話之餘地,我真想告訴聽眾們:壓力是我們內心對世界情況有所抗拒的徵兆。我們抗拒是因為無法接受此刻的生活景況,我們不接受現在的原因,是由於我們不能信任:自己的生命(小我)能夠完美地在「整全生命(大我)」中展開。因此,處理壓力的第一步:就是要相信「生命」在我們裏面,是幫助我們掌握命運的夥伴;這樣,我們便開始相信「生命」帶來理想的成長,用不著恐懼那不可知的將來,或所面對「生命」中的危難。

我會進一步闡釋這是唯一可行、也是終極的解決方法:對真善美完全透徹並付諸信任,能夠消弭所有沮喪和不滿之經驗。明乎此,我們可以接受現在就是生命的賞賜(the present is our present from life)。試問這種情況下,壓力怎可能出現呢?

 

我認為這題目對自閉症人士尤其重要,他們經常在恐懼和憂慮中生活,承受重大的壓力。二十年來,我自己也曾過著這般黑暗的生涯:這個星球(地球)充滿了不可預期的奇事,危機處處。我無法倚仗任何人,不但由於他們無法瞭解我,而往往難題正是因他們而來。我甚至無法信任自己,畢竟我真是過於駑鈍、緩慢、不夠靈活與機警

【注:主流心理學採用認知行為治療以應付這些「黑暗」經驗。然而,我個人認為現代心理學那種思維方式不一定能解除問題的根源。】

我的母親無法得知我的特殊情形,她堅持要我「集中精神」、快快完成任務、不犯錯誤、曉得常理(common sense)等等,她所要求的程度是我無法達到的。當我免不了失敗的時候,母親便拿我和同伴比較,令我知道她對我不滿:「為什麼人人總是那樣輕而易舉做到,但你卻不能?」我小學的同學欺負我,中學的老師也不瞭解我;無論在現實生活和網上世界,我青少年階段的社交經驗只有受排擠的份兒。

1997年,當我接觸到自由自主和生命目標這些概念後,我開始去瞭解人類的狀況。十一年後,我作了全周邊回轉—懂得放下自己意願,信任生命作主。我認識到生命只是一場宏偉的幻象(Grand Illusion),有如把生命寫在沙灘上:有些人畫出秀麗的文字、有塗上粗鄙之字句、或寫下巧妙的數理方程式,也有人用腳踏出一雙足印。不論那種方式都無關巨集旨,海浪澎湃就把沙灘上的記號沖洗乾淨。

明確來說,我們每個人必須經歷(肉體)死亡大限,地球也有灰飛湮沒終極的一天,歸於宇宙無有,是毫無疑問的,問題只是:這日子將在甚麼時間來到?怎樣出現?


 

與其為這些事發愁,倒不如明白一切儘是雲煙,讓我們不受羈絆,獲得更大的自由。也就是說:我們只要信靠生命,所遭遇的最壞情況也只是肉身死亡而已。倘若我們經常有準備面對死亡,便會時刻準備好好過活。因為,除了我們僅遺留的『生命』意義之外,沒有其他可以留到身後:表達自己和體驗滿足「全我」生命。

有趣的是:假如自閉症人士能信任「生命」本身,他們必不被他人指為「自閉」。自閉症人士的許多症狀是源於違抗「生命此刻」,出於對地球上一切事物的排斥:身體、感覺、心靈、人物、情境、時間… 等。 要是這一切都能挪開,就沒有障礙他們接納眼前的世界,也得以為世界所接納。

可是,自閉症人士要能信任「生命」本身,必須跨越很大的鴻溝,花了我超過十年功夫才可達致。我嘗遍失敗的慘痛經歷、痛苦的抉擇、以及遭受排斥。從不同時間當中點滴經驗積聚,我終於明白了「生命」。我所學的其中一點:就是把事情從各層面觀看。在輔導員說畢一番話後,一位退休軍官分享1960年代在新加坡的日子,並發表了他對生命的看法。以下簡述他大概的意思:

「我每月從政府處收取超過二千元退休金,直到我離世之日為止。你說這樣公平嗎?不公平!但「生命」本身就是不公平。若是公平,我們怎會坐在空調的房間內,而瑪雅人卻慘遭2008年颱風浩劫,現在正面對饑渴和疾病致死的威脅。我們這些活于富裕國家(如:新加坡)的人在空談壓力,也不過指工作壓力;但貧窮國家的人所面對的壓力,卻是為家人覓食充饑的困難!你覺得誰的壓力較大?」

「我曾經目睹新加坡的過去和現在,然而,現今的人沒有這般經歷,我的兒孫把財富和安居樂業的生活視為理所當然的,現在他們投訴戰機演習的聲浪滋擾嬰孩的安寧;試問你寧願是我們國家的空軍戰機滋擾你的寶貝嬰孩、還是讓敵國軍機轟炸我們的房子?」

「你可以每月丟棄一雙簇新名牌皮鞋,我猶記得童年昤,是何等渴望能夠穿上一雙鞋子!你能明白嗎?大概你們全部都不會曉得,因為你們過去從沒有活於赤貧景況裏。」


 

雖然我也能覺察到面對人性(Humanity)掙扎的重大議題,但卻要經過著實體驗之後,此領悟才發展出來。於是,在2007年,我開始實行我個人的「三尊」生活:尊重有需要的人、尊重地球、尊重他人。尊重有需要的人就是善用金錢、尊重地球就是節約用度和生活簡樸、尊重他人就是看透他人的外貌,賞識他們真實的內心。【當我們能夠清楚自己真正本質,瞭解到本身在別人生命中的角色,我們便能夠善視他人之本相。】

縱是我們能夠放下自己的失意,可是別人尚未如此。縱是我們不要掙扎求存,可是別人不會如此。倘若身纏萬貫之富有人家能夠尊重貧窮人的掙扎而過簡樸生活,假如俊美的人能夠尊重其貌不揚者而放棄其華美錦衣,或者才智之士能夠尊重見識淺陋的人避免放言高論,大家在地球的生活將會更愉快。

要接納此刻生命就是內心力量,尊重此刻生命就有內心力量。要知道我們不需要甚麼,有解決自我屏障的辦法,已作死亡的準備;這就是我們內心的力量。

我對那些找尋同伴的自閉症人士有一個提示:假如現實物質世界未能讓我找到許多個人需要,我便從幻想中得到滿足。有些時候我感到孤單沮喪,我會默默地哼著聖詩與天使和唱;有些時候我想到外地旅遊,但我知道無這些金錢可花費,我便幻想自己乘著風飛到遙遠景色如畫的勝地;或想像在美麗的沙灘上與知己悠閒地享受浪潮洗滌身心,數算我們的恩典。善用我們的天賦:這就是我們可以擁有這一切的原因。

[ 更多文章 ]

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

Developing Inner Strength

[ More Articles ]

In early May 2008, I attended a corporate session about coping with stress. The soft-spoken female counselor asked the class to share how they dealt with stress in their lives. As usual (in Singapore), no one volunteered. I raised my hand: "I gave up my career as an overseas inspirational speaker because of family pressure. Whenever I feel frustrated about being stuck in Singapore, I recite the Serenity Prayer."

I wanted to share more, but the counselor thanked me and concluded that I "turned inward" towards religion as a way of coping. She then turned to find more volunteers who responded with:

  • Shopping
  • Eating chocolates
  • Jogging outdoors
  • Flying overseas for tours
  • Talking to friends
 

None of these activities provide any insight or lasting satisfaction. Instead, they distract us from our true feelings and cover up the frustration in our lives. Yet surprisingly, instead of pointing out alternatives that illuminate our inner life, the counselor herself also mentioned that she used most of these herself. She took it for granted that using external activity as a distraction is an acceptable practice, even for professionals who are charged with treating the disorders of the human mind. This is like a car mechanic telling us to ignore the smoke coming from the car hood and just focus on the beautiful scenery or nice conversation with our friends.

If I had more airtime, I would like to tell the audience that stress is a symptom of inner resistance to the conditions of our world. We resist because we do not accept what is present in our lives. We do accept the present because we do not trust the perfect unfolding of our life within the Big Picture of Life. Hence, the first step to dealing with stress is by believing that Life is here for us as our helpful partner in our destiny. With this we can begin to trust Life to bring about the perfect conditions for our growth instead of fearing the uncertainties and dangers we perceive in Life.

I will then make it clear that the only viable solution is the ultimate solution: the complete dissolution of all our experiences of frustration and dissatisfaction in the total clarity and trust of perfection. With this, we accept the present as our present (i.e. gift) from life. How can stress exist in such a situation?


 

I find this topic especially important for autistics because they experience constant fears and anxieties. I have been in this hell myself for 2 decades. I experienced Planet Earth as a place full of unexpected surprises, with potential dangers lurking everywhere. I could not rely on anyone to help me because they do not understand me and are often part of the problem themselves. I could not even trust myself, because I was always too slow, too clumsy and too stupid.

[Note: Mainstream psychology does offer Cognitive Behavioral Therapy as a means of ending these experiences. However, based on my experience with the mentality of modern psychology, I would not count on its complete success.]

Unaware of my special condition, my mother often insisted that I reach unattainable standards of "paying attention", completing tasks quickly, performing tasks without accidents, understanding "common sense" etc. When I inevitably fail, she compared me to my peers and made it clear to me that she was not satisfied with me: "since everyone else could do these easily, why can't you?" My Primary School classmates bullied me, my secondary school teachers did not understand me. My teenage life was about social rejection both in real life and on the Internet.

In 1997, after discovering the concept of free will and life purpose, I set off to understand the human condition. 11 years later, I came full-circle, learning to surrender my will and entrusting my destiny to Life. I realized that Life is but the Grand Illusion, like a beach where we scribe our life on. Some people scribble beautiful words, others vulgar language. Some people write intricate mathematical equations while others just place their footprints on the sand. No matter what, it does not matter, because the next wave will erase all our scribbling.

Explicitly speaking: One day, we will all die (physically). Planet Earth will be reduced to cosmic ashes. The universe will be no more. Let there be no doubt that the only question is when and how these will happen.


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

Rather than sadness, there is great freedom knowing that nothing we do matters. It means that we can trust in Life, because the worst that can happen is our (physical) death. If we are always prepared to die, we will always be prepared to live. There is nothing left but our sole purpose in Life - to express ourselves and experience life in a manner that fulfils all of us.

Here is an interesting thought: If autistics can fully trust in Life itself, they would cease to be considered autistic by everyone else. Many of the syndromes of autism originate from resistance to Present Life. It arises from rejecting the situation, senses, body, mind, people, the slowness of time etc. If we take all these away, there will be nothing stopping us from accepting the world and from being accepted by the world.

Yet to do this requires that autistics jump a big gap, which took over a decade for me to cross. I lived through the pain of failures, difficult choices and resentment. I understood Life through my experiences and reflection a small bit at a time. One of which was about putting things in perspective. I found that with a retired Army officer who shared about life in Singapore in the 1960s after the counselor finished her sharing. Here are some excepts that I paraphrased:

"I collect a pension of over $2000 every month from the government until I die. Is it fair? No! Life is not fair. If it is fair, why can we all sit here enjoying air-conditioning while the people in Myanmar are dying (of thirst, disease and hunger after being struck by a massive typhoon in 2008)?"

"When people here (in a rich country like Singapore) talk about stress, they mean stress at work. When the people in the poor countries talk about stress, they mean that they have trouble finding food to feed their family. Who do you think is more stressed?"

"I have seen what Singapore was like long ago and now, but the people today have not. My children and grandchildren take their peace, wealth and stability for granted. Now they complain that the fighter jets (on training runs) disturb their babies. Would you prefer to have our fighter jets disturbing our babies or enemy fighter jets bombing our homes?"

"You can afford to throw away a pair of new branded shoes every month. When I was a child, how I wished for a pair of shoes to wear. Do you understand? Of course, you all don't. You have never lived in abject poverty before."


 

Although I was aware of the major issues that we struggle with as we confront our Humanity, it took real experience for me to develop insight. Thus, in 2007, I began practicing the my 3 Respects: Respect The Needy, Respect Planet Earth, Respect Other People. We respect the needy by using our money wisely. We respect Planet Earth by living simply and avoiding wastage. We respect other people by honoring them as they truly are, not as they seem to be. [When we see our own true nature and understand the role we play in other people's lives, we will see other people as they truly are.]

Even if we have ended our dissatisfaction, other people have not. Even if we ended our struggle for survival, other people have not. If the rich people lived a humble life in respect of the struggles of the poor, if the beautiful dressed simply in respect of the ugly, if the knowledgeable spoke simply in respect of the ignorant, Planet Earth would be a much happier place.

To accept our Present Life is inner strength. To respect our Present Life is inner strength. To know that we do not need anything, that we have a solution for our obstacles, that we are ready to live because we are ready to die, is inner strength.

Here is a clue for autistics who seek social companion: Imagination allows me to fulfill much of my needs, if I could not find them in physical reality. Sometimes when I feel lonely or frustrated, I played Holy Songs and sang silently with the angels. Sometimes, when I wish to travel but know that I cannot spend money, I imagine myself riding the winds to beautiful, faraway places. Or I imagine myself relaxing with someone I like as waves lap peacefully on a beautiful beach. Count our blessings and use our gifts: This is why we have them.

[ More Articles ]

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies