自閉人士談戀愛

[ 更多文章 ] | 靈感源於「我不曉得自己遺失了甚麼」一文,作者柏本納博士也是一位自閉症人士。

roses  

許多自閉症人士談愛色變,因為他們實在摸不著頭腦,但周圍的人卻告訴他們去投入。

不過,有些人不需要親密關係,為何要談情說愛來找麻煩?從電視片集中所見,找女朋友和結婚都在情感和金錢上耗費很大,選擇不與他人牽上感情糾紛有何不妥?

有些自閉症書籍建議一些愛情秘訣,可是自閉症人士想要知道的是:愛情究竟與他何干?有何意義?為什麼去愛?親密關係對我毫無意義,我不喜歡別人的接觸撫慰,情感徒令我厭煩。唯有在我醒覺過來接納了自己的情緒後,才明白愛的意義。

【那實在的經驗並非筆墨所能形容,不過…】愛情是兩個人之間的深切關係,雙方有強烈意欲與對方相擁一生,永遠廝守。這是人生無比美妙的經驗,有人比喻為(或許未必十分恰當)世上一種至高的感受。無怪乎許多地球人認為,要是自閉症人士沒有這樣的經驗,那是他們極大的遺憾。

如果要成功的談戀愛,親密關係是必需的。這就是成人之間的玩耍。相對于粗糙,翻滾的兒童之玩耍,它是溫柔和微妙的。親密感建立了一個強烈的聯結後,愛情關係才能發揮。這樣,和愛人在一起雙方都會覺得很開心。為了達到這一點,我們首先得習慣自己的身體和接受自己的地球人身份。第一個里程碑是轉換被他人的觸摸的厭惡成為安慰感。第二個里程碑是感覺自己的身體是個舒適和快樂的地方。第三個里程碑是開始期待應用接觸增強與他人的溝通。然後,我可嘗試第四個里程碑:一個親密的關係。成功後,我們就有機會完成第五個里程碑,圓滿的關係。

 

可是,我相信愛情是一項個人的選擇,卻不是在高能力的自閉症人士目標範圍之內。不少地球人以為鼓勵自閉症人士多點交際,就是幫助了他們:請尊重自閉症人士他們本身的選擇,是否需要那種形式的關係。既非有情,行動便沒意義。沒有瞭解,說話也缺乏意思。

自閉症人士抗拒關係其中一個原因,是他們感到為了要遷就對方,就常常要犧牲自己的興趣。懷著這般(理念)認識,當然不會有甚麼好結果。自閉症人士必須先明白意願和互相為對方犧牲的觀念,才會嘗到人類關係的真正本質。 要明白意願,就必須經歷難以抉擇和遷就的痛苦,以及當中如何影響到自己和他人的命運。若要他明白到為對方互作犧牲,就必須看到別人正如何為他的緣故而作出艱難的抉擇和犧牲。

 

許多自閉症人士對愛情所要作的犧牲和所帶來的麻煩,因而有所恐懼和選擇獨身,實在不足為奇的。畢竟,電視劇所渲染的關係是那般痛苦和不智,徒製造了一種錯誤的認識。譬如說:

  1. 結婚是個一生不變,為了對方而背叛自己的彼此承諾。
    • 婚前不足,但婚後完蛋。(Before marriage you are incomplete, afterwards you are "finished".)
  2. 即使後悔婚姻也得強迫自己維繫它。
    • 即使你不再愛你的伴侶
    • 即使配偶對你造成傷害
    • 即使對方另結新歡
  3. 我們的社會是一場競賽,勝利者能夠攫取一切獎項。
  4. 人類利用對方作為滿足自我身心需要工具是個正常的行為。
    • 懂得如何利用他人就能在「社交遊戲」中占了上風。
    • 不曉得或不選擇這般行為關係的人,有如在競賽場上等待被宰割的羊兒
  5. 由於我們不曉得別人真正想的是甚麼,因此不應信任任何人。

當人有所求而交上關係(例如為填補其內心的空虛、或是修護其感情創傷),他們在自尋煩惱。喜樂、平靜、滿足並不借助外界事物;假如我們內在沒有這些元素,我們永遠不能在身外尋覓得到。只有對關係的意義有另一方面瞭解,才會給我們智慧。

  1. 關係是讓我們得以表達和經驗自我的場所/場合。
  2. 婚姻是公佈兩人(感情)成熟而願意共同深化內心成長歷程的正式宣告。
  3. 像其他俗世的現象一樣,人與人之間的關係是一直轉變的。
    • 如果保持關係會損害雙方,就應該圓滿結束它
  4. 最理想的關係是自由的,雙方不必倚賴對方存在

我會用6種方式測試一段良好的關係:

  1. 它使雙方有所成長,而不是停滯;
  2. 它帶來自由,而非控制;
  3. 它是奉獻、不是利用/剝削;
  4. 它予雙方帶來喜樂,而非不滿;
  5. 它對雙方皆別具意義,而不只是表面關係;
  6. 雙方必須接受關係一直在轉變中,而不是永恆不變。

 

愛情和婚姻有力量去創造生命中重要的改變,是地球上最重要的關係,實在不能掉以輕心。

對能夠好施與受、那些能夠愛惜自己(包括本身過往歷史、行為、自我形象)者、那些曾建立有意義和稱心生活的人、那些對自己內心有認識的人,其戀愛將會成功。有了這些條件,戀愛帶動彼此的同理心、嬉笑、分享、順服、創意:雙方獻出最好的一切。

對一些人戀愛卻不會成功,那些渴求自己未償所願、那些只求性慾或只求被愛、對人苛求或要求別人履行責任的人,戀愛都不會成功。因為他們只顧厭棄自己,忘掉了他們的正面感受。他們的戀愛只會帶動彼此嫉妒、敲詐、沮喪等等:雙方最醜陋的一面。

 

若是沒有穩固的基礎,愛情和婚姻會演變為一種權力鬥爭,或憎恨、厭惡,以致雙方痛苦決裂。因此,必須十分謹慎去發展和選擇愛情的關係。

常見一類不健康的關係,就是受害人與剝削者的關係。其中一人(一般是女性)作了受害人,完全降服於剝削者的怪主意和奇想之下。剝削者要求性關係或絕對服從,致受害者極感難過。

另一類不健康的形式,就是感情依賴的關係。一方要求伴侶作出某些行為表達愛意。譬如說:一位女士要求她的男朋友每天費幾小時聽她抱怨;另一位卻希望男朋友不時購買「神秘」禮物,還要安排讓她尋覓驚喜的玩意;一旦得不到這些「情緒撫慰」,關係經常以爭吵告終。

有些時候,儘管這些人的伴侶不為所動,他們仍堅持自己表達愛意的方式,譬如說:有一對伴侶,其中一人不斷以金錢作為禮物給對方,但對方所送的卻是油畫或有趣玩意,彼此不能欣賞對方的情感;結果是:雙方得不到欣慰,還互相指責對方缺乏感情。

 

或許有些聰明的自閉症人士會追求絕佳配偶,不會接受次好的伴侶;否則寧可謝絕戀愛。他們那般過於懦弱或是過度侵略性的自我主義,形成他們對伴侶太順服或太強權。本能受損叫他們無法跳出協調舞姿來,由於感覺過敏,對別人的觸摸「產生奇怪的厭惡感覺」,亦使他們不情願有親密接觸。

自閉症人士也難以了解人類本相,他們「消受」不了,結果感到焦慮和討厭。非自閉症人士愈多談到愛情的甜蜜,以及男士有責任保護他的女伴,自閉症人士愈對戀愛敬而遠之。自閉症人士面對親密關係所帶來的挑戰,大概非自閉症人士所無法想像與理解的。

可能許多自閉症人士只有追尋一段專業關係 :有人能分享及補足他們的才能、知識、癖好和興趣。他們不一定喜歡到公園花前月下依偎,倒是大談其幻想世界,或雄辯思想理念。對這對伴侶來說,共同完成一項數學論題或電腦程式,就渡過一個美妙的夜晚。他們要找一個能夠欣賞其才幹、技術和興趣的人作伴侶。

 

有些人不明就裏,會說:「來吧!擴闊你的圈子。」或是說:「找個女朋友吧!有助你學曉如何去愛別人。」有些時候,我真想衝口而出請他們去學習一下天體物理或高等微積分以擴闊他們的圈子。

給自閉症人士一點提示:假如你對戀愛不感興趣,那不必介懷;一般是不會對別人作這般公佈的。若你不感興趣,只要說你由於要專注事業,故選擇獨身。以微笑去應付別人取笑,大多數社會文化中,為發展事業而犧牲戀愛是為人所接受的。假如你幸運找到一位深愛你而且你也愛他的好伴侶,但願你與世界分享你的福氣,這地球實在需要更多的愛。

[ 更多文章 ]

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

Autistic Romance

[ More Articles ] | Inspired by "I don't know what I am missing" by Dr. Lars Perner, another autistic

roses  

Many autistics are sick of hearing about romance because it makes no sense to them, but everyone tells them that they ought to become involved in it.

Yet for someone who does not desire intimacy, why fall in love and get into strange troubles? After all, TV shows seem to indicate that it is both financially and emotionally expensive to have girlfriends and wives. What's wrong with choosing freedom from the emotional complications of being with other people?

Some autism books provide tips on how to handle romance, but perhaps what autistics would like to know is its significance - what it means and why. Intimacy did not make sense to me when I felt irritated by touch and disgusted by emotions. It only made sense to me after I awakened to and accepted my emotions.

[The real experience cannot be defined in words, but...] Romance is an intense relationship between two people where both feel the overwhelming desire to be with and to hold each other forever. This is a wonderful, beautiful experience of the body. It is arguingly, one of the most delicious highlights of Earthly life. It is not surprisingly that many Earthlings think that autistics are missing out a lot if they do not have such experiences.

In order for romantic relationships to be successfully, intimacy is required. This is like gentle and subtle "play" between adults (in contrast to the rough and tumble "play" between children) that builds an intense bond between partners. This foundation allows us to have great fun with our partner. For this to happen naturally, we must first get used to our body and our place on Planet Earth. The first milestone is the conversion of disgust of other people's touch into comfort. The second milestone is the feeling of comfort and joy in one's body. The third is the development of the desire to touch other people as part of communicating with them. Then one is ready to attempt the 4th milestone: a intimate relationship. The fifth, consummation, is then made possible.

 

Yet, I believe that romance is a personal choice, not part of a checklist that high functioning autistics should aim for. To all the Earthlings who think that they are helping autistics by encouraging them to be more social: Please respect the autistic's choice to have or not to have any form of relationship. Without the desire, there is no meaning in the action. Without the understanding, there is no meaning in the words.

One of the reasons why autistics detest relationships is because they feel that they are sacrificing their interests and compromising with others all the time. Nothing good will come out of this level of understanding. For autistics to appreciate the true nature of human relationships, they will have to understand the concept of will and mutual sacrifices. To understand will, they must experience the pain of making difficult choices and compromises that they know will affect many people as well as their own destinies. To understand mutual sacrifices, they must see that other people are also making such choices and sacrifices for their sake.


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

It is not too surprising that many autistics fear the sacrifices and potential troubles of romance and so choose to be single. After all, TV drama shows have created a dysfunctional understanding of relationships in which pain and insanity reigns. For instance:

  1. A marriage is a lifetime irrevocable commitment for both parties to betray oneself and pretend to be someone else in other to please each other
    • Before marriage you are incomplete, afterwards you are "finished"
  2. Even if you regret the marriage, you must force youself to try and keep it intact
    • Even if you no longer love your spouse anymore
    • Even if your spouse is abusive towards you
    • Even if he or she is having an affair with someone else
  3. Our society is a competition where the winner takes all the prizes
  4. It is normal for people to exploit each other for our own emotional or physical needs
    • People who know how to exploits others are ahead of the "social game"
    • While those who cannot (or choose not to) are like sheep waiting to be slaughtered by the competition
  5. We should never trust anyone because we would not know what they are really thinking

When people form relationships expecting to obtain something, fill their own inner void or cover their emotional pains, they are asking for trouble. Joy, serenity and satisfaction is not something that exists outside us. If we do not have them already within us, then we will never find it anywhere else. Only a different understanding of relationships will being about sanity:

  1. A relationship is an arena for us to express and experience who we are
  2. A marriage is a official announcement of a journey where both parties mature and deepen their inner growth together
  3. Like all Earthly things, relationships are transitional and should only last as long as it is conducive to both parties
  4. The best relationship is one of freedom, where both parties no longer need or depend on each other

So I use the 6 tests of a good relationship:

  • It should help both parties mature, not stagnate
  • It should lead to freedom, not control
  • It should be a place of contribution, not exploitation
  • It should create joy for both parties, not resentment
  • It should be meaningful for both parties, not superficial
  • It should be recognized and accepted as temporary, not permanent

 

Romance and marriage have the power to create major changes people's lives. As they are some of the most important relationships on Planet Earth, they should not be taken lightly.

Romance works for people who are ready to give and take. It works for people who can love themselves, including their history, behaviors and self image. It works for people who have created a meaningful and satisfying life for themselves. It works for people who already have a inner knowing of who they are. With this, romance will bring out the best in both partners - the best of empathy, playing, sharing, surrendering and creativity.

Romance does not work for people hungry with unmet needs. Romance does not work on sexual desire alone or the desire for approval. Romance does not work with demands and obligations. This kind of romance will bring out the worst in each other - jealousy, blackmail, frustration etc. Autistics are vulnerable because they tend to be self-loathing and not in touch with their positive feelings.

Without a good foundation, the romance or marriage may develop into a power struggle or a resentful hatred. This is when painful breakups occur. Thus, it is wise to develop and choose romantic relationships carefully.


 

A common form of unhealthy relationship is the victim-exploiter relationship. One individual (usually female) acts as the victim, surrendering herself completely to the whims and fancies of her exploiter. The exploiter then demands sexual access and complete obedience, creating a very unhappy victim.

Another form of unhealthy relationships is emotional dependency. One requires one's partner to perform certain acts to show their love. For instance, a lady may want her boyfriend to listen to her complains for a few hours every day, while another wants her boyfriend to occasionally buy "secret" presents and play a game of hide and seek to find those presents. When they did not receive this "emotional stroking", they often end up in ugly quarrels.

Sometimes these people insist on their own ways of showing love despite knowing that their partner does not find it meaningful. For example, some will show their love with gifts of money while their partner does it with amateur paintings and fun games. Both did not appreciate each others' affection. Result: Mutual unhappiness and accusations of lack of affection.


 

Perhaps some autistics are wiser to ask for a really good partner and not to settle for anything lesser, or to avoid romance altogether. Their overly weak or aggressive individualism can make them too submissive or aggressive for their partners. Instinctive impairment may make it impossible to for them to perform the coordinated social dance. Sensory sensitivities may make them unwilling to develop intimacy due to "the weird disgusting feeling" when others touch them.

Neither do autistics easily understand the human archetypes. They tend to be unable to "digest" them, feeling anxious and disgusted as a result. The more non-autistics talk about tasting the sweetness of love and a man's duty in protecting his woman, the more it puts autistics off romance. The challenges autistics face with intimacy may too difficult and alien for non-autistics to understand.

Perhaps (like me in the past,) many autistics are actually looking more for a professional relationship - someone who will share and complement their skills, knowledge, obsessions and interests. They are not necessarily keen to snuggle together in the park, but to debate philosophy and share stories of imaginary worlds. Their idea of a wonderful night may be of the couple completing a mathematical thesis or computer program together. They would like a partner who appreciates their talents, skills, and interests.


 

Some people who do not understand may say things like "come on, expand your horizons" and "getting a girlfriend will help you learn to love people". Sometimes I am also tempted to ask them to study astrophysics and advanced calculus to expand their own horizons.

A little tip for autistics: It is OK if you are not interested in romance, but it is generally bad taste to announce that to other people. If you are not interested, just state that you are single by choice as you prefer to focus on your career. Smile and let people tease you a bit. In most cultures, it is acceptable to sacrifice romance for career advancement. And if you are lucky enough to find a good partner who loves you and who you love, I hope that you will also share your blessings with the world. Planet Earth definitely needs more love.

[ More Articles ]

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies