我應否自稱為自閉症人士?

drops of water

[ 更多文章 ]

接納『自閉症』的概念不一定是壞事,『自閉症』一詞得以讓雙方都踏出第一步去了解對方;唯有當我們能捐棄自己的堅持,才會懂得放下所接受的事物。

有些人相信你招認的會變成事實,你標籤了誰,無異鼓勵他成了那般模樣。這是歪理!自閉症不是人所想像出來的—無論你承認與否,它已是著實有形態存在那裡,不可能藉否認『自閉症』標籤便把它除去。

有些人說『自閉症』是一個負面的標籤,因為它減弱了人處身社交場合的自信心。不過,當我最初認識『自閉症』時,我感到慶幸自己不是存心「反社會」,知道其他人也有同樣問題,於是我可以尋求協助,以解決自己社交方面的困難。

對我來說,自閉症是一個有用的詞彙,它的魔力在得以躲避那些欺凌我的人及令老師多注意我;或助我入讀一所不必處處討人喜歡的學校;或在我無意犯上社交大忌時,它可能把憤怒轉化為同理心使我得解脫。

 

揭露自閉症之險阻

我曾見有些人建議自閉症人士向同學解釋他們的疾患,這不一定是明智之舉。

十三歲半的古禮就是上述的案例。假設他與同齡孩子在主流學校就讀,大有可能朋友們都不能了解他,古禮亦難以明白敞開自己所牽涉及的情況(由於行政功能失調「executive dysfunction」之故)。不熟悉他的人應當謹慎規勸他找那些可以提供協助的人,而不是讓他自己搜求幫助。

我們對兒童更要加倍謹慎,兒童固然很天真可愛,但亦可以很無情。他們可能視自閉症兒童侵略他們的小族群:「不能合夥的,便要出局,備受指責。老師在場時對你好一些,他/她走了後,你便……。你那麼蠢,量你也不會告發我們的。」只有極少數學校和學生有那般成熟情感,去包容那般歧異。

 

包容自閉症兒童

我相信古禮的老師現在能予他較適當的協助,我作了如下的建議:

不宜訓話:對兒童指令或教訓他們要如何善待自閉症兒童常常會造成反效果。那些孩子會陽奉陰違,在老師面前收歛起來,但背後的抗逆卻更難就逮。

作好榜樣:以身作則善待孩子,使他們同樣對待別人。做一個好老師,要圓融而不用強權。

不偏袒:有些教師傾向過份保護自閉症兒童,徒予人偏袒的印象,並引起嫉妒紛爭。

講故事:用類似醜小鴨的寓言故事,向孩子們引出伏線。避免作長篇大論的教訓,以感情和同理心說出故事去感動他們。說得好,孩子會吸收故事的動人之處,自然而然以關懷和尊重的心去對待自閉症兒童。

讓兒童有所作為:每當危機出現危害到每個人的時候,人們會凝聚起來抵禦。找個機會營造眾人合作,託付自閉症兒童一些其他人不樂意作或做不好的任務—譬如小息時要負責攝影,當孩子們感到每人都有份內的重要事情,他們便會尊重別人,自閉症者亦不例外。

 

我應否隱瞞自閉症?

雖然古禮的問題已不容有新答案,但我很可能予他這樣的回應:

「在你與人談及自閉症前,你最好先向一些成年人徵詢意見,你把某些關於自閉症的具體事實告訴老師,請他幫助你如何處理。假如你感到難以和老師接近,可以請父母或關心你親友代你發言。

一旦你和幫助你的人決定是時候提出自閉症的問題,應首先計劃清楚你可以對班上作甚麼貢獻?為什麼同學要尊重你?我祝福你作的努力,因為凡事都有定時。」

[ 更多文章 ]

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

Should I call myself autistic?

[ More Articles ]

drops of water

Accepting the concept of autism is not necessarily negative. The word "autism" helps both parties take the first step to understand each other. We can only let go of what we hold; we can only let go of what we accept.

Some people believe that what you acknowledge will be made real. So if you label someone, then you will encourage him to be autistic. Nonsense. Autism is not something people make up - it already exists in physical form no matter if we acknowledge it or not. We can't remove autism by denying the label.

Some say that autism is a negative label because it lowers one's self-confidence to handle social situations. However, when I first found about about autism, I was happy to know that I was not purposely antisocial, that there are people with the same problem and that now I might find help for my social problems.

To me, autism was a useful word. It is the magical word that can ward off bullies and get teachers to pay attention to me. It might get me into a school where I don't have to be liked everyone else. It might turn anger into empathy when I made some unintended social mistakes.


 

Dangerous Advice for revealing autism

I have seen instances where people advise autistics to share their disability with their schoolmates. That may be unwise.

In the above case, Coolie is 13.5 years. Assuming that he is mainstreamed with same-age peers, there is a good chance that his friends will not understand him. Coolie may also have difficulty understanding the implications of self-disclosure (i.e. executive dysfunction). Strangers should be more careful to advise him to consult someone who can help him rather than ask him to do his research.

We will have to be even more careful with children. Children are wonderful beings, yet they can also cruel. They may see an autistic child as an intruder in their little tribe: "If you can't fit in, you are out and will be picked on. Maybe we will be nice when teacher is around, but when she is gone... And you are stupid because you won't tell on us." It is a rare school, or the rare child, who has the emotional maturity to fully embrace such differences.


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

Including the children with autism

I believe that Coolie's teachers are in a much better position to help. I suggest the following to them:

No lecturing: Ordering and lecturing the children about being nice to the autistic child will usually backfire. The children may seem well-behaved, until the teacher turns her back. Their defiance merely becomes discreet and harder to catch.

Set an example: Treat the children as you would like them to treat others. Be a nice teacher. Use diplomacy instead of force.

No Favoritism: Some teachers have a tendency to overprotect the autistic child. This will create the impression of favoritism and induce jealousy.

Tell a story: Use stories like the Ugly Duckling to drop a hint to the children. Avoid any lecturing on the moral of the story. Just bring out the story with passion and empathy. Done well, the children will absorb the emotional impact of the story and naturally treat the autistic child with care and respect.

Make the child useful: Whenever a crisis arises that threatens everyone, people will unify against it together. Create or find a situation that requires everyone to work together. Give the autistic child a job that he can do well but which other children either dislike or can only do poorly, for instance, taking photographs during playtime. When the children feel that everyone is contributing something important, they will value each other, including their autistic friend.

 


I am autistic; should I hide it?

Although Coolie's question no longer accepts new answers, this is what I will probably answer him:

"It is best to ask some adults for advice before you share about autism. Share some facts about autism with your teacher and ask for help on how to proceed. If it is too difficult for you to approach your teacher, ask your parents or some kind relative to help you talk with your teacher.

When both you and your helper decide that it is good to share about autism, work out a plan to demonstrate clearly your contribution to your class and why your classmates should respect you. I wish you luck in your efforts, for there is a time for everything under the sun."

[ More Articles ]

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies