對自閉症人士的不利之物

[ 更多文章 ]

 

電腦遊戲/電視玩意:比較我們日常飄忽無定或模棱兩可的實際生活來說,電子玩意讓自閉症人士輕易明白遊戲的簡單計分遊戲程式。他們能輕易地順著其設計的環境而流,會很容易上癮。難怪他們常會沉迷於這類遊戲,而不去發展他們的智力和社交技巧。但教育性玩意倒也無妨。

非教育性電影:自閉症兒童缺乏成熟心志,容易誤解所看到情節中出現的人際互動。他們只模仿其舉動,說話的語氣(包括粗言穢語)和行為(如打架),或可能受到某些鏡頭/場面所驚嚇和激動。

網上聊天:我承認自己也沉迷於此。為免浪費時間作這無聊事,我便決心「冷藏自己」以戒除此癖好。

虛擬現實:虛擬現實中的簡單社交環境對自閉症人士相當吸引,在自閉症兒童及青少年學習使用互聯網之初期,教師和家長應予以密切指導,以免他們未足夠成熟而沉迷於網上世界。

缺乏想像力的玩具:有限功能的玩具(如推此按鈕就產生這種固定的情況),指揮兒童的活動(如必須按照下列步驟操作)和限制非結構化的活動(例如填補空格)都會負面影響兒童的創造力。好玩具能夠吸引兒童,幫助他們創造新的遊戲的可能性

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

自閉症人士的幫手

百科全書: 讓他們從中獲得大量常識,尋找他們有興趣的題材。百科全書與互聯網不同,它提供適當、客觀和高質素的資料。

書本:閱讀是消磨時間的好方法。有助自閉症人士學習重要和正式的語文和寫作技巧。閱讀指導也有必要,以免自閉症人士被某些內容誤導。(譬如:現實小說)

受保護的網上環境 Zackary's Playground就是很好的例子,對兒童及自閉症人士提供安全合用之上網環境

建設、組合性的玩意:樂高組合積木、建造機械模型、管道玩具… 等可以是未來自閉症工程師的最佳玩意。使用傳統玩具如:橡膠球,簡單的積木,粘土和蠟筆。

電腦編程:電腦程式能挑戰自閉症人士的智慧,也可提供訓練成為他們日後作賺錢的事業。沒有互聯網和遊戲的電腦可幫助啟動探索進程。

內省:鼓勵自閉症人士作自我醒察,更形重要,讓他們檢視自己的生命,喜歡怎樣的生活和貢獻世界。

[ 更多文章 ]

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

Autistic Hazards

[ More Articles ]

Computer Games / Video Games: These tend to create the flow state in autistics as they easily understand the simplified score-based gaming environment in contrast to our uncertain and ambiguous reality. They often end up being addicted to these games instead of developing their intellect or social skills. However, educational games may be permissible.

 

Non-Educational TV: Lacking sufficient maturity, these children easily misunderstand the social interactions that they see. They may copy mannerisms, ways of speaking (such as vulgarities) and behaviors (such as hitting people). They may also become frightened or agitated by some of the scenes.

Internet Chatting: I have personally found this very addictive. In order to rid myself of this unproductive waste of time, I had to go "cold turkey".

Virtual Reality: The simplified social environments of virtual reality are potentially very addictive to autistics. Teachers and parents should supervise autistic children or teenagers who are new to the Internet until they are mature enough to avoid becoming addicted.

Unimaginative Toys: Toys with limited functionality (e.g. push this button then that happens), those who direct children's activities (e.g. follow these steps) and those who restrict unstructured input (e.g. fill in the blanks) hinder children's creativity. A good toy will continue to interest the child and create new possibilities for play.

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

Autism Helpers

Encyclopedias: This will help them learn much general knowledge and find topics they are interested in. Unlike the Internet, encyclopedias provide appropriate, objective and higher quality material.

Books: Reading is a good pastime and it helps autistics pick up valuable formal language and writing skills. Supervision may be necessary to prevent autistics from misunderstanding certain works (e.g. realistic, fictitious or unwholesome material).

Protected Online Environments: Zackary's Playground is an example of child safe and autism friendly environments.

Constructive Games: Building Lego structures, constructing machines, laying pipes etc can provide much fun for future autistic engineers. Use traditional toys like rubber balls, simple building blocks, clay and crayons.

Programming: Computer programming provides great intellectual challenges while training autistics for a future lucrative career. A (childproof) computer with no Internet and games installed can help start the exploration process.

Introspection: It is great to encourage self-aware autistics to reflect about their lives, how they would like to live and contribute to the world.

[ More Articles ]

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies