訂立目標

 

[ 更多文章 ]

甚少人覺察到自閉症不僅是一種社交障礙;如要得窺自閉症人士內在那雜亂無章之心靈,不妨閱讀他們未經編輯的文章,會發覺是那麼冗長而重複累贅,缺乏重心及毫不流暢。

專家稱之為「行政功能失調」。於是,有部份治療著重幫助自閉症人士訂目標、組織計劃、控制衝動、培養靈活思考以應付意料不及的事情。


「行政功能失調」造成的困難

臆測:許多自閉症人士難以預計辦理各種事情所需的時間、功夫和投入的意志。他們可能作出「錯誤的信心」:大多數傾向於高估了自己處理事情的才幹或能力,而且堅信不移。明智的自閉症人士會考利到墨菲定律(Murphy's Law):就是讓其他人處理本身力所不逮的事,並且向有關經驗人士諮詢。

優先次序:自閉症人士常無法建立事物的優先次序,每宗事情都同樣重要。非自閉症人士有一種本能去定立事物的優先次序,自然而然全神貫注於(對他們)重要的事情上。引用邏輯推理以定下計劃,萬萬比不上利用本能的方法。我相信其中一項主要因素是:難於分別那些可能或是不甚可能發生的情況。

整體畫面的連貫性:自閉症人士傾向關注太多模式和細節,以致他們予人過於冗贅的感覺。他們忽略人類系統之整體畫面,卻著眼於無關痛癢的項目或小節,而省除了當中重要事項。要是他們從事管理職務的話,很可能在事業方面一敗塗地。

緩慢而鹵莽之決策:既沒有本能作指引,每作決定之時,都要經過漫長而有限的邏輯推理過程,叫一些自閉症人士覺得不耐煩,而草率決定;可惜這般決定往往流於鹵莽而且後果不堪設想。

獨斷獨行之計劃:自閉症人士感到難於與性格相異、或懷不同目標的人共同磋商計劃;無論其計劃是如何周詳,及預設應變方案,總會因為別人未可逆料的行徑令計劃有如泥牛下海一般(就像鐵達尼號)。
絕對的想法:每當計劃受挫或面對危急情況,有些自閉症人士會有衝動作出放棄或避開。他們可能覺得成功只是非有則無:要是不能完全追達到圓滿結果,就等同完全失敗;他們很難接受「總算不錯」的概念。

過度計劃:有些自閉症人士過於倚賴計劃,耗費大量時間於計劃甚於行事。事實上,運用一個簡單快捷的系統比一個複雜的計劃更明智,因為人類並非像電腦一般操作。

放棄作決定:不少自閉症人士(甚至高能力的人)鑒於不願付出精神作多方考慮,往往放棄作出決定。不然,他們將陷於困惑苦況之中;於是只好按別人所說去行,結果,他們有可能被人陷害或利用。

 

對自閉症人士之忠告

量力而計劃:別作不切實之吹噓(也就是說,不吹噓未經驗過的事),因為一旦不能實踐所言,將予信任你的人留下壞印象。要循序漸進才有建樹,先要求自己做那些略超於目前成就的,要接受作偉大的事需要時間,必須有充分謙虛和忍耐。

按經驗作計劃:無論你做任何事,謹記要從往昔經驗學習,或是汲取別人經驗;在未作嘗試前,有許多阻礙是始料不及的,作好準備才是明智之舉。

簡化計劃:把一切所學的計劃系統拋開,緊靠一個簡單的行事曆;記著這一項準則:每計畫一分鐘,要付上至少十分鐘的實際行動。

作短期計劃,為長遠打算:由於大部份的計劃將無法實現,宜集中於如何達成一些短期目標;與其作詳盡計劃,不妨只憧憬和述說長遠結果。比方說:

  • 選擇一項你喜歡從事、認為有價值的志向
  • 探索你要達成該目標所需付出的實際努力
  • 訂下達成志願的限期
  • 制定達成志願的小目標和按部就班邁進之期限
  • 信任自己會最終完成目標。

 

理好自己的事:集中做好自己份內的事,避免管他人事務,或評論他們該怎樣辦事。直至你已累積更多經驗,且能表現出本身的勤奮與技術後,才可考慮說出你的意見來。

讓別人來計劃:要懂得謙虛接納自己之短,讓別人來幫助你作計劃。選擇那些與你合作的人,聽取他們的意見,如此可有助你集中於更具意義的事上。

承諾與承擔:要小心謹慎所作的承諾,且要言出必行,不能履行承諾將會令你失信於人,後果是他人不會讓你有機會發揮所長,或交託予你更重要和有意義的任務。

實幹:有不少自閉症人士成為「永遠學生」,他們不斷學習,但從來不付諸實行。他們自覺準備功夫不足,不想承擔任何事務。如果你是其中一個,那麼必須當心!應該開始做些簡易的事,你可經歷到把意念付諸實踐的刺激和樂趣。希望這禱文能指導創立新開端的讀者。

[ 更多文章 ]

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

Goal Setting: Advice for Autistics

 

[ More Articles ]

Few are aware that autism is not just a social disability. To get the sense of disorganization inside the autistic mind, read the unedited writing of some autistics. They tend to be lengthy, repetitive, without a logical flow and focus.

Professionals call this "executive dysfunction". As a result, some aspects of autism therapy focus on helping autistics set goals, plan, control their impulses and develop flexibility thinking for the unexpected.


Executive Dysfunction Difficulties

Estimation: Many autistics have problems estimating the time, effort and commitment needed to perform tasks. They may develop "False Confidence" - the tendency to grossly over-estimate their talents or abilities to complete tasks together with the insistence that they have no problems delivering these estimates. Wise autistics factor in Murphy's Law, let other people handle what he cannot handle and consults those with relevant experience.

Priority: Autistics are often not able to develop a sense of importance. Everything is equally important. Non-autistics have an instinct for priority and will automatically zoom in to what is important (to them). Learning logical rules for scheduling is a very poor substitute for instinct. I believe that a major factor lies with the difficulty distinguishing likely from unlikely futures.

Big Picture / Coherence: Autistics tend to see too many patterns and details, causing them to overload other people with details. Unable to see the big picture of human systems, they tend to focus on certain pet topics or details while excluding the important themes. This will wreck havoc in their career if they take on a management role.

Slow or Rash Decisions: Without instincts to guide them, decision making become a long and drawn out process of limited logical analysis. Some autistics become impatient and decide to short-cut decision-making. However, such decisions often turn out to be rash (and disastrous).

Exclusive Planning: Autistics find it difficult to include other people who have different objectives and personalities in their plans. No matter how much they fortify their projects with contingency plans, unpredictable behavior by people inevitable sinks it (like the Titanic).

Absolute Thinking: When confronted with a frustrating change of plans or some other personal emergency, some autistics feel an urge to give up and walk away. They may feel that their success is either all or nothing - if they could not accomplish a perfect outcome then it is a total failure. They find it hard to accept the concept of "just good enough".

Over-Planning: Some autistics become overly dependent on planning, spending more time planning than doing work. [This is not a Dilbert joke.] It is wiser to work with a simple and quick to use system than a complicated one because human beings cannot function like computers.

Surrendered Decision Making: Many autistics, even high functioning ones, surrender much decision making because they could not commit the mental resources for it. Otherwise, they may find situations too confused so they simply follow what other people say. As a result, they may be manipulated by emotionally disturbed people or exploited by those with hidden agendas.


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

Advice for Autistics

Plan within Abilities: Do not make any unproven claims about your abilities (i.e. claims not backed up by past experience). You may find yourself unable to deliver on them, creating a bad impression on those who believed in you. Work your way slowly to greatness by asking to do simple things that are just slightly above your existing achievements. Be humble and patient enough to accept that it takes time to achieve great things.

Plan with Experience: Whatever you do, remember to learn from past experience or the experiences of others. There are many unexpected obstacles that you will not know until you try. It is wiser to prepare for them.

Simplify Plans: Throw out all the planning systems you have learnt. Stick with a simple checklist and calendar. As a guideline, make sure that for every minute you plan, you are doing actual work for 10 minutes.

Plan Short-Term, Intend Long-Term: Since most of your plans are not going to work, focus on how to achieve short-term goals. Instead of planning details, visualize and describe outcomes for the long term:

  • Choose a worthy ambition you love to do
  • Explore the commitment and realistic effort you must make to get there
  • Set a deadline to achieve your ambition
  • Set simple goals with deadlines to move you towards your ambition
  • Trust that you will eventually find your way there

Mind your own business: Focus on doing your job well. Avoid doing other people's job or commenting on how they should do things. Only after you have acquired more experience and demonstrated your diligence and skills should you consider sharing your opinion.

Let other people plan: Be humble enough to accept your limitations and let other people help plan for you. Choose someone who can work with you and listen to them. You can focus on more meaningful things this way.

Promise & Commit: Make promises carefully and sparingly, then make sure you deliver on them. If you could not deliver on your promises, people will not trust your ability to deliver. As a result, they will not grant you the opportunities to develop your skills or do something more important and meaningful.

Do It: There are many autistics who are "Eternal Students" who study extensively but never apply their knowledge in practical life. They are reluctant to commit to anything because they feel that they are not prepared enough. If you are one of them, take heed! Start doing something simple so that you can experience the thrill and joy of putting your ideas into practice.

Note: I have written a New Year's Resolution Prayer for those who are committing to a new beginning.

[ More Articles ]

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies