應付長期疲勞的方法

[ 更多文章 ]

 

不少自閉症人士(包括我自己)經常在日常生活中感到困倦無力、提不起勁來。本文旨在把個人經驗說明:我曾定意在自己人生作出一點改變,以解決這些煩惱。

心理疲累

我們的疲累感覺多時是來自心理方面。許多人覺得生命就像背負著一肩重擔,例如:當一份自己不喜歡的職務、與我們意見相左的人交往、或處理跟自己毫無關係的家庭問題等等。我們多年來這般生活,不免感到厭倦、心力交瘁和煩躁;最簡單的應付方法便是休假去:儘管一周暫緩過後,那種折磨仍要繼續下去。

大部份自閉症人士的內心同樣受著疑惑、焦慮、恐懼和憤怒所煎熬,那些掙扎不但在日間如影隨形般纏繞他們,就是在夜裏也使他們睡不安寢。對這種疲累,只有一個解決方法,就是:重新詮釋這個世界,經驗它的美善和意義。我經歷連串重大的內心重整,才改變了觀點和角度。

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

睡眠困難

反復思量和憂心忡忡的日子,令我每天難以安眠,不免造成睡眠不足。譬如說:由於缺乏感應去估計事情之實際可能性,我過去常憂慮外星人會侵略地球、受時空殺手所追捕、遭到逃出動物園的獅子襲擊、或面對其他假設性難題……。以下是我的處理方法。

鬆弛技巧就是第一度防線。

  • 作均勻而深度的呼吸
  • 集中精神於呼吸之上,數算每一下呼吸
  • 想像自己徜徉于寧靜安舒的地方
  • 以導引冥想去幫助自己身體放鬆

假如鬆弛技巧無補於事的話,我們可以運用心理技術及認知行為治療。以下都是我曾使用的方法。

  • 寫下我的憂慮、以及必須緊記的那些事,堅持把它拋諸腦後,待翌晨醒來後再思量。
  • 提醒自己:即使睡前百般憂慮,徒然浪費時間亦無助解決問題。

 

我亦有睡眠週期困擾(醒/睡迴圈)。我的家人看電視喜歡把音量調高,我為避免受噪音所干擾分心,只好工作至深夜;為補睡眠不足,於是在午間或黃昏小睡片刻,結果到晚上便難以入睡。以下便是一些解決方法。

  • 每天(包括週末及假期)有固定上床和下床的時間。若要多睡片刻,提前上床睡覺。
  • 床上只作睡覺之用,別躺在那兒思考或工作。
  • 睡前的一至兩小時內避免過份勞心的工作
  • 早上睡醒時,稍稍望向光源片刻,以調節體內生理時鐘。我曾試著閉上眼睛把額湊近一個小燈泡(11W)以加強作用。
  • 避免小睡,如實在必要,請利用接近中午時間,那是睡眠週期的自然低谷點。
  • 試找出自己最少需要多少時數的睡眠,以保持在日間精神奕奕,把時數多加一小時,就是你應有的睡眠時間。
Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

過於繁忙的生活方式

接二連三的事接踵而來,令我們忘記停下來呼吸一口氣。我們的呼吸常是那麼匆忙、短促和雜亂無章—使我們腦部虛耗重要的氧氣。假如我們懂得如何適當運用呼吸,我們可以叫頭腦清醒過來。我建議練習瑜伽以強身健體,對過度活躍者亦大有裨益。瑜伽有助調諧身心,使呼吸和身體融合一致。

適當調節呼吸可以讓我們平靜下來,進入默想狀態;西方人的宗教導引我們祈禱,而東方宗教則導向冥想。兩者都有極佳作用。若能掌握自如,自然精神奕奕和活力充沛,不再一臉倦容和暮氣沉沉了。

我每天早上最少花上五分鐘練習瑜伽,週末早上更用上整整一小時。幸好冥想不必我們規限於「某個時段」或「指定動作」。沒事情幹的話,我還可以看書;要是那些社交場合中不容看書、或自己太疲累時,我可以在無什察覺下進行冥想;假如我是獨個兒的時候,也可以同時作呼吸練習。亦有助自閉症人士應付「缺乏耐心」這個難題。
Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

缺乏運動

運動不足令我們欠缺天然陽光,那幫助我們適當調節體內生理時鐘的元素。慣常坐著的生活方式可能導致血液迴圈減弱、呼吸淺短,令人臉容出現疲倦和憔悴。

我個人應用「產能運動」(productive exercising)節省時間。那就是說,我相信運動可以有附帶實用目的;如:與其純粹在公園跑步二十分鐘,我們可以考慮跑步到工作間,或跑到百貨公司購物。我就是這樣每天兩次跑步二十分鐘來回工作間,給我所需的運動量,還讓我省回一筆可觀的金錢哩!

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

營養問題

許多的營養問題都不出下述幾類:

進食不當的食物:要善待你的身體。避免損害身體的飲食和習慣,從為害最大的項目著手---吸煙者應馬上戒煙;嗜酒、可樂或其他人造飲料者停止飲用;若知道食物中含味精則不要下箸;勿喝含人造糖份的飲料。然後撇除為害較少的飲食(如:咖啡、茶、零食)和污染的空氣。多進食新鮮水果和蔬菜。

每天營養份量不足:欠缺某些礦物質或維生素會影響體內的新陳代謝作用。以避免這個問題,我使用一個好的多種維生素。我每天也補充了250mcg的維生素B12。不過,如果我服用過量口服的的cyanocobalamin維生素B12,我會有嚴重的失眠。如果您也遇到這個困難,請減少分量或使用其他類型的維生素B12(如:methylcobalamin)。

鹽不足:由於我的身體缺乏鈉,我的血壓過低造成我整天感到疲勞。年輕時,過敏引起的感冒經常造成因鼻液流失大量的鈉。雖然感冒從2007年停止了,但時常流汗的我還是繼續流失鈉。當我開始每天服用1克的鹽(含400毫克鈉)後,我感覺到身體充滿活力,集中力特別好。3個星期後,我停止服用鹽。至今,血壓還是保持在正常範圍內。注意:要和醫生商量後才嘗試這個方法。過多的鹽會損害身體。

不足的DHA歐米加3脂肪酸:這可能會導致疲勞和注意力難以集中。我每日服用了550mg的DHA後,睡眠時間自然減少了15%。

缺乏鐵質: 缺鐵可能導致低血壓,令人頭暈。失血、月經、懷孕可以造成體內鐵質大量流失。然而必須注意:過份吸納鐵質補充劑,卻有可能導致身體中毒。

消化力弱:假如我們的腸道不適,所進食的養份亦無法吸收,以益生菌(Probiotics)配合容易消化的食物,會有所裨益。

寄生蟲/菌感染:存於消化腸道中的寄生物(無論蛔蟲或寄生菌),都會令人失去活力。請參閱有關感染症狀,檢視自己是否受到影響。

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

為了方便不喜歡服用人造補品的讀者,一位做「全營飲食」(holistic diet) 業務的朋友幫助我搜羅一系列果汁作為參考。若要得到最大裨益,就正如水果那樣,應在空腹時進食/飲用。水果是最適合的我們消化系統,若混合其他類別的食物,會減弱其吸收功能。此外,滲雜之果汁倒有助吸收所有維生素和養份。

基性果汁(各款果汁基本元素)

  • 基本果汁
    • 新鮮椰子
    • 新鮮黄豆
    • 新鮮杏仁奶
  • 調味黑糖漿
    • 蜜糖
    • 焙乾黑芝麻
    • 生薑

醒腦提神類

  • 脂肪酸
    • 牛油果
    • 亞麻籽油
    • 麥芽油
    • 南瓜籽油
  • 纖維/其他養份
    • 青萍果
    • 生胡蘿蔔
    • 新鮮芒果

补血類

  • 鐵質
    • 紅菜頭
    • 黑葡萄
    • 黑草莓
    • 黑豆 (原生及經一夜浸泡發芽)
    • 黑棗/紅棗 (原生及經一夜浸泡發芽)
    • 海藻
    • 新鮮而未經煮熟的菠菜

有助消化類

  • 維他命C
    • 檸檬(削皮)
    • 青檸(削皮)
    • 橙/橘子(削皮)
  • 果酸
    • 青萍果
    • 鳳梨/鳳梨(連芯)

你可在我的自閉兒家長指南和此英文營養網站閱讀更多營養資料。

[ 更多文章 ]

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

Autistic Chronic Fatigue: Coping Strategies

[ More Articles ]

 

Many autistics, including myself, have felt constant lethargy and low motivation in our daily life. In this article, I would like to share how I have solved this problem by committing to some simple changes in my life.

Psychological Fatigue

Much of the time, the fatigue we experience is psychological. Many people experience life as a burden for us to carry such as working in a job we dislike, interacting with unsupportive people and dealing with family problems. After living this lifestyle for many years, we feel tired, burned-out and grumpy. A common strategy is to take a vacation - but it may merely buy a week of reprieve before the torture continues.

Most people with autism have an equally hard time struggling internally with uncertainty, anxiety, fear and anger. This internal struggle follows them like a shadow throughout their waking lives, and often into their dreams. There is only one cure for this type of fatigue: to re-experience the world as good, beautiful and meaningful. The changes in perspective comes to me in a series of massive inner transformations.

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

Sleep Problems

Repetitive thoughts and worries prevent me from falling asleep for a few hours everyday, causing unintended sleep deprivation. For instance, due to my lack of the sense of probability, I worried about aliens invading Planet Earth, a time traveler wanting to kill me, meeting a lion that has escaped from the zoo and other hypothetical problems that I might face. Here is how to deal with them:

Relaxation techniques are the first line of defense:

  • Taking deep, regular breaths
  • Focusing on and counting each breath
  • Visualizing oneself in a calm and safe place
  • Relaxing one's body using guided meditation

If relaxation techniques do not help, we can use mental techniques and Cognitive Behavioral Therapy. Below are the techniques I have used:

  • Write down all my worries and stuff I need to remember, then insist that my brain think about them only after I wake up the next day
  • Remind myself that time spent worrying before sleep will not solve the problem

 

I also had a disturbed circadian cycle (sleep-wake cycle). My family likes to keep the television switched on at high volume, forcing me to stay up late at night to avoid the daytime noise and distractions. I napped in the afternoon and evening to catch up on lost sleep, resulted in difficulty sleeping at night. In order to resolve this problem:

  • Sleep and wake up at a fixed time everyday, including holidays and weekends. You may, however, sleep earlier if you need more sleep.
  • Use the bed only for sleep; do not do any thinking or work on your bed.
  • Avoid heavy mental work 1-2 hours before sleeping.
  • Upon waking up in the morning, briefly expose your eyes to a minute of bright light to reset the body clock. I used a 11W light bulb placed an inch away from my (closed) eyes and forehead.
  • Avoid naps. If you must nap, do so around noon to take advantage of the natural dip in our circadian cycle.
  • Find the minimum amount of sleep you need to stay alert, and add an hour more. This will be the amount of sleep you should get.

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

Overly hectic lifestyle

Rushing from one emergency to another, most of us forgot to pause and breathe. Our breathing is often rushed, incoherent and shallow - depleting our brain of vital oxygen. We will feel more refreshed if we learn to breathe properly again. I recommend yoga as it strengthens the human body and is works for hyperactive people. Yoga harmonises the mind by bringing both the breath and the body together.

With proper breath regulation, we can calm down and enter a state of contemplation. In the Western religions, we pray. In the Eastern religions, we meditate. Both are excellent. When done skillfully, one feels more alert and alive rather than tired and deadened.

I do 5 minutes of yoga every weekday morning and a full hour every weekend morning. Fortunately, meditation does not require us to set aside a "special" time or assume a "special" posture: Although I usually read a book when idle, if I feel too tired or am in a social situation that forbids me from reading, I meditate without drawing attention to myself. If I am alone, I also do breathing exercises. This also resolves another autistic problem: impatience.

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

Lack of Exercise

Insufficient exercise can deprive us of natural sunlight, which can help to keep our body clock properly tuned. A sedentary lifestyle can also lead to weak blood circulation and shallow breathing, thus inducing a sense of poor health and fatigue.

I personally believe in "productive exercising" to save time. In other words, I believe that exercise should lead to a practical goal. For instance, instead of jogging for 20 minutes in the park, we might jog to work or to a departmental store where we can do our shopping. I do brisk walking twice a day for about 20 minutes to and from work, which gives me much needed exercise and saves me a good amount in transport costs.

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

Nutritional Problems

Most of our nutritional problems fall into these categories:

Eating the Wrong Food: Treat your body with respect. Avoid foods, drinks and habits that are bad for the body. Start with the habits that cause the most damage. If you smoke, stop. If you drink alcohol, cola or any artificial drink, stop. If you know that there is MSG (Monosodium Glutamate) in your food, stop. If you have artifical sweeteners in your drinks, stop. Then get rid of the less harmful things like coffee, tea, junk food and polluted air. Take more fresh fruits and vegetables.

Insufficient Nutrients in Daily Diet: We may have certain nutritional deficiencies that affect the body's metabolism. I use a good multi-vitamin to avoid this problem. An additional 250mcg of Vitamin B12 daily perks me up. However, taking the cyanocobalamin form of Vitamin B12 orally caused terrible insomnia if I overdosed. If you encounter this problem too, try reducing the dosage or using other types of vitamin B12 (e.g. methylcobalamin).

Insufficient Salt: I had a sodium deficiency, which caused my abnormally low blood pressure and constant tiredness. My frequent allergy induced colds leaked a lot of sodium via nasal fluids. After these colds stopped in 2007, my profuse sweating continued to deplete sodium reserves. After taking 1 gram of salt a day (containing 400mg of sodium), I felt much more energized. I stopped taking salt after 3 weeks and my blood pressure has remained in the normal range ever since. Do not try salt supplementation without professional medical advice - it can damage your body irreversibly.

Insufficient DHA Omega 3 Essential Fatty Acids: This can cause tiredness and difficulty concentrating. The amount of time I spent sleeping naturally went down by 15% after I started taking a dosage of 550mg of DHA daily for about a week.

Insufficient Iron: This can lead to low blood pressure, which can make us faint-headed. Loss of blood, menstrual periods and pregnancy creates a great drain on iron within our bodies. However, over consumption of iron supplements is poisonous.

Poor Digestive Ability: If our digestive tract does not work, the nutrients we consume will not benefit our body. Probiotics and enzymes combined with digestion friendly food may help.

Parasitic Infection: Parasites in the digestive tract, ranging from tapeworm to fungus, can drain vitality from a person. Read up on the syndromes of infection and see if you have any.

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

For those who prefer a natural solution instead of supplements, I have compiled a list of juices, with help from a nutritionist friend. Like fruits, these should preferably be eaten on an empty stomach for maximum benefit. Our digestive system is optimized for fruits; mixing other kinds of food can reduce nutritional absorption. In addition, it is very important to blend the juice to make it easy for the digestive system to absorb all the nutrients and vitamins.

Basic Blend (as the foundational part of all the other blends)

  1. Base Juice
    1. Fresh Coconut
    2. Fresh Soy Bean
    3. Fresh Almond Milk
  2. Flavoring
    1. Black Molasses
    2. Honey
    3. Baked Sesame
    4. Raw Ginger

Brain Restoring Blend

  1. Fatty Acids
    1. Avocado
    2. Flaxseed Oil
    3. Wheat Germ Oil
    4. Pumpkin Seed Oil
  2. Fiber / Other Nutrients
    1. Green Apple
    2. Pear
    3. Raw Carrot
    4. Fresh Mango

Blood Replenishment Blend

  1. Iron
    1. Beetroot
    2. Black Grapes
    3. Black Berries
    4. Black Bean (raw & sprouted overnight)
    5. Black / Red Dates (raw & sprouted overnight)
    6. Seaweed
    7. Raw Spinach

Digestive Aiding Blend

  1. Vitamin C
    1. Lemon (skinned)
    2. Lime (skinned)
    3. Oranges (skinned)
  2. Acid
    1. Green Apple
    2. Pineapple (including the core)

Refer to my parent's guide to autism and this supplement reference for more nutritional information

[ More Articles ]

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies