我對自閉症的期望

認識作者 | 服務 | 安排演講事宜 | 常見提問 | 期望

有些人不能完全明白為甚麼我投入自閉症的工作,他們告誡我:「純粹」作自閉症分享是「不切實際」的事,我應該對自閉症兒童提供治療和訓練,人們才會願意支付費用的。不過,我一再聲明不是要「治療」或「訓練」自閉孩童。

經過面對地球生活的艱苦適應,我能得以恢復自己的本能,獲得這無比和罕有的賞賜,我感到有責任和全世界分享這份禮物。我不理睬自我的經濟情況,只是盡力發揚理論、整頓材料、以及爭取認許以達成這目的。我希望能和他人合作,但遭到不同團體和人士的拒絕,包括一些自閉兒的家長。正當我要放棄自閉症宣導時,我在國外取得突破。

不過,縱然我已盡了自己的一切所能,但我還是無法以此自閉宣導謀得生計。沒有出版商願意購買我作品的版權、沒有贊助人願意支付我的開銷。堅持著完成自己的任務也導致自己的家庭關係極為緊張 – 我最終得在家庭關係或自閉症工作做出選擇。經過痛苦掙扎思量,我決定找份全職電腦工作,把自閉症的工作當為嗜好。

 

我尋找工作時理解到「歧視」的意義。當我告訴一些潛在雇主我有自閉症診斷時,他們的態度就立即改變,不太想雇傭我。友善的笑容突然變得尊重但遙遠的表情。具有互動的討論變成一直強調工作需要有好的社交和溝通能力。我在一個非政府組織接受面試時,老實的面試官還感謝我分享我有自閉症,因為她認為我(因社交能力差勁而)不適合在她的團體工作。

我這時才理解到自閉宣導工作已成為我生活的拖累。我決定儘量減少在新加坡的媒體接觸,以避免未來難找工作。我得強調,推掉難得的採訪和紀錄片邀請對我來說是很痛苦。以前我一直期待的機會,現在卻只能眼睜睜地放棄掉。但我做出了妥協,決定維持這個網站以繼續為自閉症社區服務


我不再有以宣導工作改變世界的雄心。我也不想世人把我為自閉患者而忽略了我其他的特徵和成就。我現在自閉症工作的重點是為自閉症社區提供實際的幫助–無論是與特殊兒童的老師分享自閉症,或是指引自閉青年,或是幫助創立聘請自閉人士的公司。我會低調地進行這些計畫,不需讚揚或炫耀。

我也正在寫作第四本書-它將會應用自閉症來探討心靈和生命意義的話題。我現在忙著全職工作和就讀夜間大學,所以我不知道要多久後才能完成寫作。但我期待我這本書將來會像《小王子》和《天地一沙鷗》一樣,激勵百萬世人。希望那時我也不需靠全職工作維持生活,能夠追求開發研究所為人類解決問題的夢想。那時將是我再次接受媒體目光的注意力的時候。

感謝讀者閱我的分享。如果你想提供一些支援,或者想和我聯繫,請與我聯絡。

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

My Autism Wish

My Story | Services | Speaking Arrangements | FAQ | Why I do autism work | Vision of Autism Achievers

Some people do not fully understand why I do my autism work. They advise me that "merely" sharing about autism is not "practical": I ought to provide therapies and treatment for autistic children because that is what people will pay for. However, my main purpose is not to "cure" or "treat" autism.

After much effort adapting to Planet Earth, I spontaneously recovered my instincts and developed an intuitive understanding of human life. Having received this rare gift, I felt that I have a duty to share it with the world too. I struggled to develop materials, theories and recognition to accomplish this without regard for my finances. My offers to work together with others to promote autism awareness were rejected by various organizations and people, including some parents of children with autism. Just as I was about to give up with autism advocacy, I made some breakthroughs overseas.

However, despite trying my best, I could not make a living from my autism work. No publisher would pay me an advance for my books and no sponsor was willing to bankroll me. My persistence has also strained my family relationships severely - I was eventually asked to choose between my family and my autism work. After much agonizing reflection, I took on a full-time computer job and relegated autism work to a hobby.

 

It was when I tried to find a job that I understood the meaning of discrimination. When my autism diagnosis was made aware to some potential employers, their attitude changed immediately and they preferred not to hire me. A friendly smile would suddenly become respectful but distant. Previously interactive discussions would change to repetitively emphasizing on the need for good social and communications skills. An interviewer at an NGO was honest enough to thank me for telling them about my diagnosis, as (she believed that due to my weak social skills) I would have been an unsuitable candidate.

It dawned on me that my autism work has became a liability for this stage of my life. I decided to cut down on my media exposure in Singapore to prevent my employment prospects from being affected. I must emphasize how painful it is to have to turn away all the documentary requests and interviews that I once worked hard to obtain. However, I decided to keep this website as a compromise - to continue contributing to the autism community.

 

I no longer have ambitions of changing the world through my autism work. Neither do I wish to be known simply as a person with autism - I am more than just my diagnosis. For the next stage of my autism work, I would focus on practical help for the autism community - be it sharing about autism to special needs teachers, helping to mentor autistic youth or advising people who want to set up a business to hire people with autism. These will be done quietly, without fanfare or media publicity.

I would also like to write my 4th book, which will use autism to explore spirituality and meaning in human life. I live a busy schedule working full-time and studying part-time, so I do not know when that book will be written. But I know that someday, this book will join other works such as the Little Prince and Jonathan Livingston Seagull as sources of inspiration for millions of people. Hopefully by then, I will no longer need to work for a living, and be able to pursue my dream of starting a research lab to help solve Humanity's problems. That will be the time when I shall present myself to glare of the world's cameras again.

Thank you for listening. If you wish to offer some support, or connect with me, please feel free to contact me.

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies