自閉症社交策略:
如何增加社交影響力

[ 更多文章 ]

如何與人相處是一個大題目,可以寫好幾本書。我想以‘社交記帳模型’中的社交策略為依據,把和人打交道的過程簡要地概括為三個階段:相見,相知,相處。[雖然這個文章只提到學校生活,但也可應用在工作方面。]

第一個階段是相見。在一個主流學校裏,當我們第一次和同學們見面時,他們會想:‘他是誰?’他們會立即下意識地根據你的言談舉止和你帶去的東西來評判你。正如一個社交技能訓練師對他的學生們所強調的那樣:‘被他人吸引不是理性的選擇。’在這種情況下,多數人會建議我們建立一個良好的第一印象。然而,即使一個自閉症人士成功地做到了這一點,這個好印象也不會維持多久。所謂相見容易,相處難。

 

 

我認為,一個有社交障礙的人最好把精力放在第二個階段:相知。在這個階段,同學們開始琢磨:‘他對我有什麼用處?。’簡單地說,他們是在考慮與我們建立關係的問題。他們會將這個問題擱置一到三周,這就使我們有足夠的時間來扭轉負面的第一印象,建立正面的‘朋友’,‘同盟者’,或‘幫手’的關係。比如說,同學們因第一印象已認為我們是個令人討厭,古怪,不關心別人的人。但如果我們能說令人捧腹的笑話,或者只有我們知道如何下載最新潮的手機鈴聲,同學們會改變對我們的看法,開始覺得我們是個聰明,愉快,誠實和樂於助人的人。
我們能夠從對社交帳冊做出有益的付出這方面與同學結盟:先從身邊的同學開始,然後擴展到全班同學,再擴展到全年級的同學。這裏的關鍵是如何用最少的時間,精力和資源為最多的同學提供最大的幫助。對我而言,找到一個其他同學不會但我們喜歡的技能(比如,你是唯一知道如何修理電腦的人)做出有用的貢獻是個好策略。[越多人有我們貢獻的技能,策略的效力就越差勁。]

從理論上說,自閉人士視角獨特且有獨特的技巧,所以他們應該能夠很容易地找到他們獨特的位置。但是大多數自閉人士仍 然相信,既然我們到學校去學習(或者到我們的辦公室工作),只有我們的分數和知識(或者工作業績和職場競爭力)才是重要的。因此,父母和老師必須強調,學 校不僅僅是進入職場的一個訓練基地,分數也只是這個訓練的一部分。上學的另一個目的是在“社交技巧”上獲得“高分”,衡量的辦法是看有多少同學自願地幫助 這個孩子解決問題,或者有多少同學在做專案時願意和他在一個組。

 

在相知的過程之後,我們進入到和同學相處的階段。這時,每個人都會在一個小團體裏有一個特定的角色。其中一個人可能是替大家拿主意的頭目,另一個人可以管組織和協調,還有一個人知道從哪里可以買到便宜貨。非自閉的孩子們會在這個階段組成2-5人的小團體。但是,我建議自閉者不要加入任何團體,因為他將不得不投入大量的時間和精力去維持這樣的密友關係。[你的團體會希望你和他們一起聚會,出遊,並參加他們所熱衷的活動。如果你拒絕3次左右,他們就會不要你了。他們可能還希望你只在小團體內部使用你的專長,這樣你想幫助別人就不太方便了。]

因此,我認為你應當與 每個小團體建立足夠的社交信譽從而得到加入他們的活動的邀請。當一個團體的頭目邀請你加入他們的團體的時候,這意味著他已經接受了你而且認為你是個有價值 的成員。我建議不要接受這樣的邀請。連著拒絕兩次,他就會知道你的意思,不再邀請。(如果你改變了主意,你總是可以要求再次被邀。但是,這一次你必須接受邀請,否則你就會失去加入那個團體的最後的機會。)

我認為自閉人士最好的策略就是和班上每一個小團體都維持一種友好的中立關係,以提供切實的幫助和以禮相待來保持關係良好。這樣,你就能獲得全體同學的一致認可,而無須將大量的時間和精力放在維持密友關係上。(可以參考新加坡的外交政策以瞭解這個策略在國與國之間是如何運作的。


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

我母親曾經教給我一些概念,比如“ 利益關係”(Social usefulness,意為"社會利益關係")和“利用價值”(Social value, 意為“其他人可為我們利用的價值”)。她曾經教導我,要和那些有利用價值的人交朋友,不要和那些無利可圖的人或可能成為你的累贅的人交朋友。我曾經認為她的思想太過權謀了,拒絕接受她的觀點。但是,她的話裏也有一些真理。要是她當初知道如何以我明白的方式來向我解釋,我也許就不會在學校裏被排斥了。

如果自閉症人士向我求助,我可能會這樣向他們解釋我的觀點:非自閉人士將永遠是非自閉人士,自負的人將永遠自負,易怒的人將永遠易怒。然而,即使是最難相處的人也有朋友,而這些朋友能夠看到他們內在的善良。你應當使自己成為一位天使或調解人:一位能夠引導出人們善良的一面的人,一位幫助別人的人。你的工具就是社交記賬策略,我將其概括為以下幾個步驟。

首先,在開始的至少兩個星期裏,你必須對每一個人的負面印象忽略不計,包括忽略從你的新朋友那裏聽到的任何閒言碎語。換句話說,你必須給他們向你示好的機會。在這個試用期裏,你要假定他們所做的一切都是出於好意。你要假定所有無法解釋的不當言行都是因為存在誤會或者心情惡劣,你不會因此而責怪他們。你要以和氣和友善對待他們。

第二,你要在一周之內為每個人至少做一件事,從和你最近的人開始(座位相近,成績相近或者工作性質相近)。你可以給他們一塊糖,或者幫助他們完成家庭作業。這件事必須是某種有形的東西(即他們可以看得見摸得著的)。

第三,你要在兩周內在你的社交圈裏找到自己的位置。你必須找到至少一個你可以貢獻的有用技能,你可以用它來使你周圍的人開心或者為他們排憂解難。然後你必須幫助他們最大限度地利用你的技能。

第四,你不必擔心你什麼時候才能得到回報。但是,你必須避免為某一個人提供過多的幫助或施予。你做這些應當是平等和經常性的,讓人看到你不是另有所圖。你的幫助還必須是可持續的:應當避免做那些需要你付出太多時間、精力和資源的事情。

 

最後,你必須堅守以下四個原則:

1) 你必須實現你的承諾,除非事情有了變更或者你的承諾只是禮節性的。不要許諾你沒有把握的事情。也就是說,如果你承諾保守一個秘密,你就必須做到。如果你做到了,人們就會對你徹底信任。

2) 不要看不起任何人或認為別人比自己差。你可以有自己關於是非的立場,但是不要指責別人的觀點是錯的。你可以認為一個人給你造成了麻煩,但是不要因此而責怪他。不要在沒有弄清事實的情況下妄下結論和評判他人。即使在事實搞清楚之後,也不要去怪罪別人。讓事情本身和無法控制的環境因素來承擔罪責。最重要的是,不要貶低或嘲笑任何人。如果你做到了,你的思想,行為和語言就會得到淨化。沒有憎惡和怨恨,你就沒有敵人。就象一位古人曾說過:“與其傷害我們的敵人,不如化敵為友。”

3) 不要以為什麼都是理所當然的,不論是你與別人的關係或是你自己的財產,都不是憑空得來的。桌上的食物是人們付出了辛勤的勞動種出來的;應當用感恩的心去接受它。你的錢財是以汗水和淚水掙來的--應當明智地使用它。你所獲得的一切幫助都來自于天使,應當感謝他們。你應當不斷地回報自己所得到的恩惠。如果你做到了,在你遇到麻煩的時候,人們就會樂施援手。

4)不要給他人 造成麻煩。我們可以從忠實地履行自己的責任和義務開始。即使我們不是很樂意做一件事,也不能以此為藉口而做得馬馬虎虎或故意破壞,因為這會給別人造成麻 煩。應當做一個認真負責的人,不論是在小事上(比如,不亂扔垃圾,自己的東西自己收拾)還是在大事上(比如,不欺騙或傷害他人)都是如此。如果你做到了, 人們就會學你的樣子,也不給你造成麻煩。

 

我為以上這些策略命名為“智慧天使之路”。一個自閉人士必須成為一個天使;除此之外,別無他法。欺騙很難,與人勾心鬥角更難。沒有必要讓自閉者放棄他們的純真去模仿非自閉人士。為什麼不利用自閉人士的優勢,並以此來增加社交影響力呢?

[ 更多文章 ]

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

Autism Social Skills Strategy: How to win friends and influence people

[ More Articles ]

Working with people is a major topic that can fill up many books. Using a social skills strategy derived from the Social Accounting Model, let me start with a summary of the 3 stages in meeting people: introduction, relating and partnership. [Although this article only mentions school life, the same principles also apply in the workplace.]

The first step is the introduction. In a mainstream school, when we meet our classmates for the first time, they will be thinking: "Who is this person?" They will judge you by your behavior, speech and what you bring. This is instant and involuntary. As a famous social skills trainer often emphasized to his students that "attraction is not a choice". Faced with this situation, most people would suggest creating a good first impression. However, even if the autistic manages to pull off this feat, this impression will only last for a while. A Chinese idiom sums this up elegantly: "it is easy to meet, but difficult to live together" (相见容易,相处难).

 

 

For the socially handicapped, I believe that our effort is better spent on the second round: relating. This happens when the other classmates began to ask: "How is he meaningful to me?" In short, they are considering how to create a relationship with us. The classmates will leave this question open for around 1 to 3 weeks, which gives ample opportunities to turn around any negative first impressions and establish a positive relationship such as a "friend", "ally" or "helper". Translating into practical terms, let's say that our classmates have already labeled us as nerdy, odd and uncaring. However, if we demonstrate the ability to crack funny jokes and we are the only person who can copy the latest cool ringtones for our classmates, they may change their mind and re-label us as smart, cheerful, honest and helpful.

We can start building our alliance by offering a positive contribution to the social accounts, starting with adjacent classmates, then the whole class and then classmates of the same grade. The key is to make the maximum social contribution to the maximum number of classmates with the minimum amount of time, effort and resources on our part. A good strategy is to find a useful skill that we like (e.g computer troubleshooting), which we have a monopoly. [Note: The more people who can perform this skill as well or better than us, the weaker the social effect of this strategy.]

Theoretically, autistics see many different perspectives and have different skills, so they should be able to find their niche quite easily. Most autistics, however, tend to believe that since we go to school to study (or go to our office to work), hence, only our grades and knowledge (or work performance and job competency) are important. Parents and teachers must emphasize that the school is more of a training ground for entering the workplace, and grades are only part of the training. Thus another objective of going to school is to "score well" on "social skills", which we can assess by counting how many classmates are willing to volunteer to help the child on a minor problem or work with him on a team project.


After the relating stage, we enter into partnerships with our classmates where each of us have a well-defined role in a clique. Hence, someone may be the leader who makes group decisions, another person the coordinator who organizes events and yet another who knows the best bargains and shopping haunts. Neurotypical will begin to form cliques of 2 to 5 people at this stage. However, I would advise autistics to avoid joining any clique, since he will have to invest a huge amount of time and effort into sustaining such intimate relationships. [Your clique will expect you to go to parties, outings and participate in their favorite activities. If you decline to go about 3 times, they will kick you out. Your clique members also expect you to keep your special skills mostly within your clique, so you may not be able to help other people as much as you like.]

Hence, I suggest accumulating enough social credits with each clique to get an invitation to participate in their activities. When the leader of the clique invites you to join the clique, it means that he has accepted you and thinks that you are worthy of membership. I suggest not accepting the invitation. Decline two such requests in a row; he will get the message and stop asking. [If you change your mind, you can always ask to be invited again. However, if you do so, you must accept the next invitation or else you lose your final chance to join that clique.]

I believe that the best strategy for an autistic is to maintain a stance of friendly neutrality with every other clique in class, lubricated by useful offers of help and a friendly personality. In this way, you are assured of unanimous support among all the classmates, while not having to invest a lot of time and effort into sustaining intimate relationships. [Study the diplomatic policy of Singapore to see how this is done among nations.]


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

My mother used to tell me concepts like "social usefulness" (利益关系, literally: "relationships of social benefits") and "social value" (利用价值, literally: "the value of other people for our exploitation"). She often tells me to make friends only with people of useful value and leave aside those who have no benefit or whom present liabilities. I used to think that she was Machiavellian in her understanding of the world and refused to accept her views. Yet, there is some truth in her words. If only she knew how to explain them to me in a way I could understand, I might have escaped years of social rejection in school.

This is how I might introduce my concepts to autistics who come my way: Neurotypicals are going to remain Neurotypical. Arrogant people are going to remain arrogant. Easily angered people are going to remain easily angered. Yet, even the most difficult person has friends who appreciate the hidden goodness within them. Your goal is to be an angel or a peacemaker - a person who can bring out the goodness in these people, and help them in their daily life. Your tool is the Social Accounting Strategies, summed up in the few steps below.

Firstly, you must ignore any negative impressions of each person for at least 2 weeks, including any gossip you hear from your new friends. In other words, you must give him or her the chance to be good to you. During this probation period, you are to assume that everything he or she does is of good intentions. You will assume that any bad behavior or words that cannot be explained in this manner are caused by misunderstandings or emotional distress, and so you will not hold the person responsible for it. You are to reciprocate good deeds and kind words in return.

Secondly, you are to make at least one contribution to each person within 1 week, starting with those who are closest to you (based on physical distance, rank or work function). You can give them a sweet, or help them with their homework. This contribution must be something tangible (i.e. that he or she can see, touch or taste).

Thirdly, you are going to find a niche for yourself in your social circles within 2 weeks. You must find at least one useful skill that you can give to the world around you, which will either make people happy or remove the problems that make people unhappy. You must then assist the people around you to make the most use of your skills.

Fourthly, you are to not going to worry about when you will get your favor back. However, you must avoid helping or giving too much to any one person. Your help should be fair and steady, so that people can see that you have no hidden agendas. Your help must also be sustainable: you are to avoid giving something that will cost you too much time, effort or resources.

 

Lastly, you must commit to the following 4 principles:

1) You are to fulfill any promise you made, unless it is renegotiated or it is just a ceremonial oath. You will never promise something that you are not sure of delivering. This means that if you promise to keep a secret, you must do so. Do this, and people will trust you with their lives.

2) You are not allowed to see anyone in a negative manner or as inferior to yourself. You may take sides about who is right or wrong, but you cannot blame a person for being wrong. You may say that a person is causing you problems, but you cannot blame the person for doing so. You are not to jump to conclusions and judge anyone before you are clear of the facts. Even then, you are not to assign blame. Let the blame fall on the circumstances and the environmental factors out of anyone's control. Most importantly of all, you are not to belittle or ridicule anyone. Do this, and you purify your thoughts, action and words. Without hatred and malice, you will have no enemies. As a wise Chinese sage once remarked, "Rather than wishing harm upon my enemies, is it not better to turn them into my friends?"

3) You may not take anything for granted, no matter your relationships with others or your own possessions. The food on your table is grown with hard work - accept it with gratitude. The money you receive is earned with sweat and tears - use it wisely. The help given to you comes from an angel, thank him or her. You seek to return what you receive, many times over. Do this, and people will be keen to help you whenever you have trouble.

4) You will not give trouble to other people. Start by discharging your responsibilities and obligations with honor. While we may not be keen to fulfill our obligations, it is not an excuse to do it poorly or sabotage it since it will create problems for many other people. Live a responsible life from the small aspects (e.g. no littering, clean up any mess you make) to big ones (e.g. no cheating or injuring other people). Do this, and people will follow your example and not make trouble for you.


I name the strategy above as "the wise angel's way". An autistic has to become an angel; there is no way around that. Deception is difficult, social manipulation is even harder. There is no need to make autistics lose their innocence trying to copy Neurotypicals. Why not take advantage of the positive traits in autism, and use them to win friends and influence people?

[ More Articles ]

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies