red flowers

自閉症能康復嗎?

[ 更多文章 | 之前有關聯的文章:超越療愈自閉症 ]

我在2012年底與一位自閉兒的家長聊天;他也是一間自閉治療中心的創辦人。當我們聊起了我的自閉症工作時,他向我提到,“癌症患者可通過醫療測試以確認他已經沒有了癌症,自閉人士又為何不能做同樣的測試呢?”這位家長堅定地相信自閉症是能夠康復,而卻認為我就是一位已恢復的好例子。

我傾向於同意他的觀點。自閉症康復仍然是一個很有爭議的話題;有許多自閉症專家認為這是不可能的。雖然我不喜歡涉足這方面的自閉症政治,但我想探索如果自閉症康復確實存在,康復的自閉人士到底是什麼樣子的。[請閱讀新聞:有些自閉兒自然康復]

換句話說,如果自閉人士已經康復,標準是如何定義?除了不再符合DSM-IV或DSM-5用於診斷自閉症的標準,我提出以下附加標準:

1)即使序列亂序或延遲,但康復者必須經歷了同樣年齡層的發展階段。換句話說,他必須擁有同個年齡層的社交和情感的成熟。

2)必須直接理解和使用社會技能和溝通以強化自己的優勢,自動自願符合團體規範以及享受和自己喜歡的人聯繫。換句話說,他們沒有假裝扮正常,而是自然表現出正常行為。

3)能夠在不需要任何協助的情況下獨立生活、就業、談愛情、理財等等。換句話說,其他人辦得到的,他也行。

 

如果我按照以上提出的標準,我得斷定我已經康復了。不過,我只能說我已經適應了非自閉人士的生活。我可不是自閉症專業,不能為自己診斷或取消診斷。

1)在2003年之前,我的情感簡單,能夠感覺到獨自的快樂、憤怒、悲傷、焦慮和平靜。當我在2003至2006年接觸情感時,經歷了強烈情緒。他們就像心裏的野馬,失去控制地四處奔跑。我最終理解了個性,接受了地球生活。之後,我的情緒婉轉。我開始感到矛盾的情感,如對同一人同時感到又感激又憤怒。在2011年,我開始對他人有直覺;能夠在交談時判斷他人的性格。例如,他們是否喜歡或不喜歡我,脾氣是否會暴躁或辦事可不可靠。這個最新的發展似乎表明我已經完成了普通成人的發展階段。

2)我喜歡和一些人交往,也對談戀愛有些經驗。但我還較喜歡獨自一人過活,因為我的性格內向。即使在我從來沒有碰到的社交情況下,我的直覺會告訴我有些話應該或不應該說。雖然我的社交能力不算優秀,但在大多數情況下還能過得去。

3)我曾接受了一項艱難的工作,吸取了一年半的多工作業、客戶服務和管理經驗。我並沒有透露自閉症診斷。雖然我的表現並不特出,也獲得了很多同事給于的指導,但我的老闆和同事們都希望我能夠留下來。我接受這份工作是想給自己一個挑戰,看看我是否能真正融入普通人的世界。達到了個人目標後,有另一間公司邀請我加入他們。我毫不猶疑的接受了較輕鬆,但也較低薪的心理測試工作。


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

康復的局限

康復者不一定能夠完全恢復染病之前的情況,因為治療過程或病症可能產生了長期的負面效果。例如,鐳射矯視手術能夠使到近視眼患者康復,但可能造成夜間視力不佳和眼睛乾澀的負作用。脊髓灰質炎患者康復後,走動時仍然還會坡腳。同樣的,恢復後的自閉人士可能還會存在一定程度的社交障礙和多動症的傾向。然而,這並不表示康復失效。

有一些家長聲稱自己的孩子已康復,但這些孩子很明顯不符合我提出的3個標準。我曾見過一名臺灣教授“康復”的兒子不理解的母親叫他抹桌子的意圖,從桌子完全沒噴到水的部分開始抹。另一名兒子對陌生人感到不舒服,不停地“隱藏”在自己的房間裏。我指到她兒子們所表現的問題時,那些博士的臉上發出了生氣的表情。 [那時我的確太過坦率。] 那些家長不肯面對殘酷的事實才把孩子列為康復了。

事實上,自閉兒可像機器人一樣按照規則社交,或像演員一樣死背社交臺詞,並不意味著他已康復了。自閉兒不會亂發脾氣或表現出不妥的行為並不意味著他已康復了。對我來說,就算自閉兒不再符合DSM-IV標準也並非意味著他已康復了。即使一名自閉成人有份穩定的工作、婚姻和受人尊敬的博士學位、也並非康復。無論建立多麼完整的社交資料庫,死背多麼詳細的社交規則,也不能夠達到康復的情況。

真正的康復者能夠以本能直接瞭解人類個性和意圖,毫不費力地進行社交。康復者必須它要求行使意志的,通過努力作出艱難的抉擇。他們也必須接受和表達自己的情感。當康復過程完成後,甚至自閉症專家也不能區分康復者和普通人。

 

如果讀者對於突然康復感到疑惑,我建議閱讀以下約丹妮爾(Danielle Feerst)的經驗

我昏迷了幾天。在那個昏迷期間,我死了約15分鐘。我被救活醒來後,問護士“我在哪裡?” 因為這是我想第一個想知道的事物。醫生便可放心,因為我這個問題意味著我的腦筋至少沒有嚴重損壞。

雖然我還活著,但情況還沒恢復正常。在接下來的幾個星期,我注意到我的知覺出現了奇妙的改變。這個世界的人變成了遙遠和陌生。

我無法察覺他人的心態和意圖。他們所說的話感覺空洞。我不知道他們在想或感覺什麼。我知道我應該能夠理解他人,但我失去的這個能力。我周圍的每個人都好像變成了機器人。在我頭腦的某樣功能已經關閉,讓人類突然變成陌生。這令我感覺恐懼。

於是我恐慌地開始觀察肢體語言,希望從這方面能夠試圖找出是他人的心態和意圖,和他們所說的話實際上意味著什麼。我專注他們的手勢,面部表情、姿勢、鬆緊張的手臂和肩膀的方式、離我站立的距離、微笑和皺眉等等。總之,我任何蛛絲馬跡都不能放過。

經過了幾個月痛苦但無效的奮鬥,我越來越焦慮和沮喪。突然大腦關閉的功能神秘地啟動,我又能毫不費力地理解他人了。


 

康復的最佳方式是什麼?

一句話-早期干預。進行治療要越早越好,因為孩子在社交和執行能力上的發展將受到最少的延遲和阻擋。
我因為遲了20年才開始走出自閉,所以社交技能遠遠落在人後,要趕緊追上。對於具體的治療方法,我提議那些可以幫助開發自閉兒本能的方法

對於把希望寄託在神經語言程式學(NLP)情感自由技術(EFT)的自閉人士,我的個人經驗告訴我這些都是無效的。就算有錢也不要花費在那些定價過高的研討會。成為肢體語言專家也不能獲得社交本能。接觸情感和有意識地定義自己的性格是無可替代的。


 

康復者的生活如何?

我已經被2名自稱已經康復的自閉人士聯絡了。其中之一名來自英國的年輕女士。她嘗試聯絡一些自閉症專家分享她16歲自行康復的經驗,但不被重視。

我推測,這世上可能有幾千人已經成功自行走出自閉症。他們生活相對美滿,不再被抑鬱、焦慮、慢性疲勞和缺乏圓滿困擾著。他們低調地融入主流社會;只有關係親密的家庭成員和童年朋友知道他們以前的經歷。

透露了自己有曾經有了自閉症的標籤是有害無利的。為何引起保險公司拒絕拒絕他們申請保單,使到潛在雇主和愛人回避,和令好友質疑他們之前的診斷?為和費精力去說服持懷疑態度的自閉症專業?不如乾脆把精力投資在發展應用自閉傾向的事業,如成為一位電腦編程員、工程師或大學教授?


 

是自閉症/阿斯伯格綜合症是否是一種疾病,還是一種不同種族的文化?

我認為自閉人士的確是有自己的文化和作風,是值得其他非自閉人士尊重。我也採取現實的看法,接受自閉症為是一種疾病。這是因為在大部分自閉兒的家長和自閉症專家都有這個觀點。

雖然不是每個人都同意自閉症是一種疾病,但直到地球不是普通人為主的那一天,自閉症的確是一種障礙。既然我想和人類合作把世界變得更美好,這是一個障礙我不想保留。

[ 更多文章 ]

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

Autism Recovery Possible?

red flowers

[ More Articles | Follow-up to Beyond Cure Autism ]

I was chatting with the parent of a boy with autism who was also the founder of an autism center. As we chatted about my autism work, he mentioned to me that "a cancer patient can lose their diagnosis by taking a medical test to confirm that they no longer have cancer. Why can't a person with autism do the same too?" Unsurprisingly, he is a firm believer in autism recovery and looked upon me as a fine example of someone who has recovered.

I tend to agree with him. Autism recovery still remains a controversial topic with many autism experts believing that it is impossible. Although I prefer not to get involved in this aspect of autism politics, I would like to explore what autism recovery would look like assuming that it is possible. [Read the news: Some children 'grow out of' autism]

In other words, if a person has recovered from autism, what is the criteria that we can use to define it? Other than no longer meeting the DSM-IV or DSM-5 criteria used to diagnose autism, I propose following additional criteria:

1) Must have underwent the same stages of development as a typical child, even though it may be out of sequence or delayed. In other words, the person must have developed both the minimal social and emotional maturity expected of his or her age group.

2) Must instinctively understand and use social skills and communications to their advantage, automatically expressing a desire to conform to the group and obtaining pleasure from connecting with those they like. In other words, they are not pretending to be normal. They are simply behaving normally.

3) No longer requires any assistance for independent living, employment, romance, financial management and other abilities needed to function in society. In other words, he can do pretty much what everyone else can do.

 

According to the above criteria, I must conclude that I have recovered. However, I could only state that I have adapted to NeuroTypical life. I am not an autism professional and I could not diagnose or un-diagnose myself.

1) Before 2003, I felt very simple pure emotions of happiness, anger, sadness, anxiety and calmness. As I got in touch with my emotions between 2003 to 2006, I went through a stage where I felt very strong emotions that felt like uncontrollable wild horses. This cumulating in the realization of human individuality and the acceptance of my own life on Planet Earth. After that, my emotions mellowed. I began to feel conflicting emotions such as gratefulness and anger towards the same person at the same time. In 2011, I started intuiting the character of the people I interact with, such as if they dislike me, are prone to anger or are reliable. The latest development seemed to indicate that I have completed the developmental stages expected of a typical adult.

2) I enjoy social contact with some people, and have some experience with romance. I would still prefer to be alone, but that is because I have an introverted personality. I instinctively know that some things should be and should not be said, even if I have never encountered them before. While my social skills are far from excellent, but they are certainly passable for most situations.

3) I have worked in a demanding job requiring multi-tasking, customer service and managerial skills for 1.5 years without revealing my diagnosis. I could not claim to have performed very well, and received a lot of guidance from my colleagues, but my bosses and colleagues wanted me to stay. I took on that job as a challenge to myself to see if I can really blend into the typical working world. Having achieved success, I left when I was headhunted to work in another job doing psychometric testing.



Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

Limitations of recovery

There is no question that a recovered person may still experience side effects from his or her earlier condition, either due to the condition itself or the treatment used. For instance, someone who has recovered from myopia using LASIK may suffer from poor night vision and dry eyes, while someone who has recovered from polio may walk with a crippling gait. Likewise, someone who has recovered from autism may still have some degree of social handicaps and ADHD tendencies. However, this does not invalidate the success of the recovery.

There are some parents who claim that their children have recovered, but it is obvious that these children do not meet all the 3 criteria. I know of a Taiwanese professor whose "recovered" son does not understand the intent of his mother asking him to get a cloth to wipe (the water spilled on) the table - he started by wiping the dry areas. Another of son of hers felt uncomfortable with strangers and kept going back to "hide" in his room. She was quite angry that I pointed out those unresolved issues. [I was too blunt back then.] These parents could not face the cold, hard reality that their children are far from recovery.

The fact that a child can follow instructions like a robot or memorize scripts like an actor in order to socialize does not mean that he has recovered. The fact that the child does not throw any more temper tantrums or misbehaves in public does not mean recovery. The fact that a child no longer fits the DSM-IV criteria still does not mean recovery to me. Even an adult who has a steady job, a marriage and a respected doctorate may not have recovered. There is no way one could recover from autism by memorizing social rules and creating a huge database what to do for every given social situation.

With true recovery comes the ability to grasp the concepts of individuality and intent intuitively, and socialize without stress and effort. It requires the exercise of the will through the effort of making difficult choices. It requires the acceptance and expression of emotions. When the recovery process is completed, even autism professionals will no longer be able to distinguish a recovered individual from a typical person.


 

What is the best bet for recovery?

Two words - early intervention. The earlier the better, because the child would have the least delay in picking up social and executive skills. I have had 2 decades of social skills to catch up on due to my late emergence from autism. For specific therapies, consider those that can help to develop instincts for children with autism.

For those Aspies who set their hopes on Neuro Linguistic Programming (NLP) or the Emotional Freedom Techniques, I can tell you from personal experience that these are ineffective. There are better ways to spend your money than to pay for those overpriced workshops. Becoming an expert body language reader will not help you gain access to your instincts either. There is no substitute for getting in touch with your emotions and consciously defining your own character.


 

What happened to those who recovered?

I have been contacted by two people who claimed to have recovered from autism spontaneously. One of them is a young lady from England who spontaneously recovered at age 16. The lady was not taken seriously when she wrote to some autism professionals about her recovery.

I speculate that there may be a few thousand people in the world who have recovered by their own effort from autism. They live relatively satisfying lives in contrast to their counterparts who often suffer from depression, anxiety, chronic fatigue and a lack of fulfillment. They blend silently into mainstream society and only the close family members and childhood friends have any idea what they experienced.

It will not be in their interest for them to disclose their past experiences with autism. Think about it. Why cause insurance companies reject to reject their applications, potential employers and lovers to shy away while making friends awkward or doubtful of their past diagnosis? Why bother to convince a skeptical autism professional community who does not believe in such a phenomena? Why not just focus on a lucrative career which makes use of the residual autism traits, such as programming, engineering and teaching graduate students?

 

Finally, I suggest that readers read this passage from an article in Forbes about the experience of Danielle Feerst if they have doubts on spontaneous recovery.

I was in a coma for a few days, and at some point during that coma, I died briefly – for a total of about 15 minutes. I came back to life, woke up, and asked the nurse “Where am I?” because, despite the cliché, it was what I wanted to know first. The doctor was relieved too, because my question meant that I was at least roughly intact, mentally speaking.

As it turned out, I was alive, yes, but not everything was normal. Over the next several weeks, I noticed that something odd had happened to my mental processes. The world – or at least the people in it – had become distant and strange for me.

I couldn’t figure out affect – intent – in other people. Their words seemed hollow. I couldn’t tell what they were thinking, or feeling. I knew I should be able to tell what was going on with other people, but I couldn’t. Everyone around me seemed like automatons, robots, without the affect I was used to from before the accident. Something in me had switched off, I had no idea what, and it meant that people were suddenly complete mysteries to me. It was terrifying.

So I began to study body language consciously, in a deliberate and indeed panicked attempt to figure out what people were feeling, what their intent was, what they actually meant. I focused obsessively on gesture, facial expressions, posture, the ways people revealed tension in their arms and shoulders, the way they moved closer or further away from each other, their smiles and frowns – everything, in short, that I could see that might tell me something about what they were feeling.

And then, after a couple of months of agonized and largely unsuccessful efforts to read people, efforts that were making me more and more anxious and depressed, something switched on again. The part of my brain that read other people effortlessly, more or less, switched back on as mysteriously as it had switched off.


 

Is autism / Asperger's a culture rather than a disorder?

I recognize that people with autism have their own culture, which is just as worthy of respect as other cultures. I also take the pragmatic view that autism is a disorder as far as the majority of parents of autistics and autism professionals are concerned.

While not everyone agrees that autism is a disease, we can definitely agree that it is a handicap as long as our world is dominated by NeuroTypicals. Since I would like to help work with the rest of Humanity to make the world a better place, this is a handicap that I can definitely do without.

[ More Articles ]

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies