為什麼我的自閉兒恨我?

[ 更多文章 ]

儘管聽起來政治不正確,我願意承認我不喜歡我媽媽。我覺得她有時候像個大老闆,總 是讓我做我不喜歡的事情。這種情緒並非我獨有。記得在2007年,我去和澳門的一家人一起吃晚飯。這個家庭裏有一個十幾歲的自閉症男孩。席間媽媽和兒子開 始爭吵,爸爸無能為力地在一邊看著。我本想吃一頓平安飯的希望就這樣泡湯了。這讓我想起了自己不愉快的童年,還有很多在網上讀到的類似的故事。為什麼自閉 兒恨他們的父母(和其他監護人)?我們應當怎麼辦呢?

2004年,我在馬來西亞的一個村莊住過幾天。我到達的時候已經是晚上,人已經非常疲乏了。到了半夜1:30,就在我剛上床就寢時,我的朋友C.B.開始打開行李整理他的東西。他弄出的聲響讓我無法入睡。半小時後,我提出了口頭交涉,要求 他第二天早上再整理。他說他不覺得噪音是個問題,還是堅持整理,不論我如何抗議他都置之不理。一個小時後,就當我打算在外面搭個帳篷過夜,他整理完畢自己 去睡了。

第二天早上,由於自來水系統壞了,我必須去河裏取水。除C.B.以外,和我一起來的還有兩個女性朋友。大家商量好每人至少打一桶水回來。就在我們要 去的河邊時候,C.B.沒給我們任何理由就離開了。我們以為他是想把這個力氣活扔給我們,所以很生氣,但我們還是去了。從河邊回來十五分鐘後,C.B.提 著兩桶水回來了。我們三人又驚又喜。我問他到哪里去了,他支支吾吾語焉不詳,把水放在廁所裏就又不見了。

  Passing through the tunnel

 

假如我不瞭解自閉症,不知道C.B.很可能有阿斯伯格綜合症,我會和他解除朋友關係的。從大多數人包括我自己的角度來看,C.B.是一個不招人喜歡的人,是個不關心別人的人。從C.B.的角度來看,我這個人有毛病,對噪音過於敏感,沒有給他做事的機會就輕易下結論。
2009年4月,在和廣州的家長們進行的一次非正式交流期間,我忽然明白了:C.B.不知道也不可能知道我和我的同伴們是怎樣遷就他的。而他看到的 是我們在要求他做這做那。就像我自己在2003年的時候一樣,C.B.一定會抱怨這些沒有邏輯的地球人為什麼總是向他提出社會性的要求。

終於,我對家長們的問題有了答案。我向家長們解釋說,由於自閉兒在社交上有缺陷,他們無法明白家長為他們作出的犧牲。但是他們對家長做的所有‘壞事’都看得清清楚楚。由此,我寫出了‘社交記帳模型’和它的姊妹篇‘社交策略’。

 

社交記帳模型假定,在社會交往中,我們不斷地通過語言和行為在他人的帳戶上存入或支取‘社交代幣’。下表是一些常見的社交代幣交易類型:

支取 存入
失敗
損失
額外工作
額外麻煩
感情受傷
不利
不守承諾
成功
獲利
減輕工作
避免麻煩
情緒快樂
有利
實現承諾

讓我們舉個實例,假設一個自閉兒要媽媽給他買一個漢堡包做午飯。結果媽媽為此排了20分鐘的隊才買到。可是孩子拿到漢堡包後,沒有對媽媽說一句感謝的話。[當然,她可以訓練或強迫孩子說‘謝謝’,但是這並不會引起感激的作用。] 相反,孩子餓壞了,埋怨等了這麼長時間。吃完後,孩子還想要一個冰激淋,這次媽媽拒絕了。孩子對媽媽大發脾氣,抱怨媽媽待他不好。

 

我假設,如果要一個人對他人的付出心懷感激,以下條件必須具備:

條件 解釋
瞭解情況本身 這個人必須清楚理解產生了社交代幣交易的事件。
知道情況對個人的價值 這個人必須珍惜從交易中獲得的東西。
知道所需的付出 這個人必須明白獲得這個東西需要付出的勞動。
知道付出是因自己而起 這個人必須懂得這些付出是專為他而作的。
記得過去的相同事件 這個人必須記得這種情況過去發生過,因而能夠正確衡量這些付出的價值。
立即感應情感衝擊 被情感衝擊後,這個人才能把(知性上)知道應該感恩對方進化成發自內心地感激他人的付出。

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

在漢堡包事件中:

條件 從孩子的角度 從媽媽的角度
瞭解情況本身 我想要一個漢堡包。 孩子要我在人最多的午餐時間為他買一個漢堡包。
知道情況對個人的價值 我愛吃漢堡包。 我的孩子會高興的,至少高興一陣子。
知道所需的付出 買漢堡包很容易:只要去速食店就可以了。 為了這個漢堡包我要排20分鐘的隊,還要花我掙的血汗錢。
知道付出是因自己而起 我只想到漢堡包。我不太懂得我是在要求媽媽做事。 是我的孩子要我去買漢堡包的。
記得過去的相同事件 我以前也要過漢堡包,而且很容易就得到了。 我媽媽總是自己為全家做飯的。她常常花幾小時買菜做飯。
立即感應情感衝擊 我喜歡吃漢堡包。好極了。我很高興。 要是我在孩子的位置上,我會很感激的。

 

在冰激淋事件中:

條件 從孩子的角度
對事情有某些瞭解 我想要一個冰激淩。媽媽不給。
強烈感到事情的價值 冰激淩好吃。我一定要吃。
瞭解別人的付出 得到冰激淩很容易:打開冰箱拿就可以了。
知道付出是因自己而起 我只想著冰激淩。我不太懂得我是在要求媽媽做事。
對過去事件不恰當的記憶。 我以前也要過冰激淩,而且很容易就得到了。
負面的感受 媽媽不給我冰激淩,我很生氣。從冰箱裏拿一個冰激淩本來是很容易的。媽媽壞。

 

所以,這個自閉兒漠視正面的社交代幣,看到的都是顯而易見的負面的代幣。日積月累,這些負面的代幣越來越多,孩子就越發怨恨父母和監護人。這個孩子長大以後,就會認為世界上的人總是強迫他讓步,而他的付出卻沒有回報,因為其他人從來不對他讓步。

再回到漢堡包的例子,我繼續對家長們解釋說,即使媽媽帶著孩子去排隊,事情也不會有什麼不同。這個孩子不會感到媽媽排隊的辛苦,而是覺得媽媽是在強迫他做一件沒有必要而且很煩人的事情。‘為什麼她不自己排隊?為什麼要帶著我排隊?’

所以,我建議家長們建立一個PECS計畫(The Picture Exchange Communication System;圖片交換溝通系統) ,用兩個公開帳本明確記錄社交代幣的交易:一個帳本記錄存入,另一個記錄支取。每次父母為孩子做了什麼事情,孩子必須知道他們欠了父母一筆,並記錄在支取 帳本上。如果孩子為父母做了什麼事,就記錄在存入帳本上。這樣,父母和孩子之間的誤解就可以減少。

我建議的另外一個極端的方法,是讓父母們雇一個保姆或幫手,讓他們扮演‘壞蛋’的角色,承擔所有負面的社交代幣。這個‘壞蛋’設置一個場景,不 讓孩子得到他想要的東西。父母則扮演‘英雄’的角色,制服‘壞蛋’,把孩子要的東西給他。然後‘英雄’讓孩子明白(利用上面講的PECS系統)他們剛才為 孩子做了件好事。在‘壞蛋’積累了太多的負面社交代幣以後,父母可以重新找一個人來代替他。

 

講了怨恨,現在我想談談關於愛的問題,因為父母們對這個問題同樣擔心。在我分享過程中,人們問我是否愛我的媽媽。對這個問題我只能說:‘我對媽媽的愛和一般人對自己媽媽的愛不同。但這並不等於我不愛她。’這裏我必須將我所認為的集合愛和個體愛區別開來。

普通孩子對父母有一種特別的親近感。這種感覺很難用語言來表達。它就像從內心升起的一種愛意,它的物件是一個讓我們時時牽掛的人,他的離去或死 亡會令我們極度悲痛,他的話我們會遵從。這種關係使這個人有別於我們每天見到的其他人。在青春期之前,我完全不知道存在這樣一種感情。所以,我把媽媽看成 是老闆,把妹妹看成是同事。我感覺不到我和她們之間的親情:只知道媽媽總是單方面的對我發號施令。

但是,說我不愛媽媽也不是事實。如果媽媽摔倒了,我會扶她起來。如果我看到她受到威脅,我會保護她。但不是因為她是我媽媽,而是因為這些是在別人有困難時我應該做的事。這種愛的基礎是認為每個人同等重要,同樣值得幫助。

由於我無法建立感情上的聯繫,我不覺得人們有什麼不同。每個人對我來說都是一樣的陌生或一樣的友好:唯一的區別是我對他們的瞭解有多有少。如果不是媽媽教導我,我會信任和幫助每一個我見到的人。

 

一個人要想感受個體愛...

第一,他必須知道自己的存在。如果他不知道自己的存在,就不會有意識和願望。

第二,他必須能體會事物的含義。有自我意識不等於有自我認識。一個人可能意識到自己存在,但是不能感受自己的存在。他可能知道自 己有軀體,感情,思想,過去,和目標。但是,如果他無法切身地體驗這一切,將它們變成自己的,這些對他來說就毫無意義。他也許知道自己有家庭和朋友,但他 不會感覺那是他自己的家庭或朋友。

第三,他必須能夠看到別人的內在善,美和意義。[這些看法是主觀的,因人而異的。] 惟有如此,愛才可能產生。

第四,他必須加入另一個人的生活,必須與這個人有感情上的互動或者對這個人的生活有重要的正面影響。共同的生活會將迷戀轉化為愛。

最後,他必須能感受到與他人之間微妙的感情,比如母子之情。這些感情使得愛的體驗完整。

 

說出‘我愛你’是容易的,而親身感受它則是另一回事。向媽媽尋求食物、指導、和保護是容易的,而在能在內心體會她的養育是另一回事。履行社交禮儀比如送禮物給別人是容易的,而感受其中的內涵則是另一回事。因此,我請讀者們越過辭彙和表像,去認識自閉症式的真愛。

[ 更多文章 ]

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

Why does my autistic child hate me?

[ More Articles ]

While it may sound politically incorrect, I would like to confess that I do not like my mother. Sometimes, I felt that she was more like a boss who wanted me to do what I disliked. I am not alone in my sentiments. I remember that in 2007, I joined a family with an autistic teenager for dinner in Macau. My hopes of a peaceful dinner were dashed when both mother and son started arguing with each other while the father watched helplessly. That reminded me very much of my unhappy childhood and of the many stories I have heard on the Internet. Why do many autistics hate their parents (and other people who care about them)? How do we do something about that?

 

In 2004. I was staying over in a village in Malaysia. I have arrived earlier in the evening and felt very tired. However, my friend, C.B., decided to unpack his belongings at 1:30am just as I snuggled on bed. The loud noises that C.B. made kept me awake. After half an hour, I complained verbally to him and demanded that he do his packing the next morning. He told me that he saw no problem with the noise and continued. He continued to ignore me as I protested. An hour later, I was about to set up camp outside the house when he finally concluded his packing and went to sleep himself.

The next morning, I had to fetch water from the river as the running water was not working. Other than C.B., I was with 2 other female friends. We all agreed to fetch at least 1 bucket of water from the river. Just as we were about to set off, C.B. excused himself without any reason and sped away. Thinking that C.B. intended to let us do all the hard work, the 3 of us felt upset with him but we continued anyway. 15 minutes after we returned from the river, C.B. came back to the house with 2 buckets of water. The 3 of us were pleasantly surprised. I asked him where he had been and he mumbled something unintelligible. He left the water in the toilet and disappeared again.

  Passing through the tunnel

 

If I did not know about autism, and that (based on my observation) C.B. has Aspergers, I would have ended my friendship with him. From most people's perspective including mine, C.B. is an unpleasant person who has no concern for other people's welfare. From C.B.'s perspective, I am probably the problematic person who has peculiar problems with noise, and whom jumped prematurely to conclusions before giving him the chance to do what he has promised to do.

During an informal sharing with some Chinese parents in Guangzhou in April 2009, everything fit together: C.B. did not, and could not know how my friends and I have accommodated ourselves for his sake. However, he could see all the demands we placed on him. Like me in 2003, C.B. would probably be complaining about how those illogical Earthlings are imposing social demands on him.

I finally had the answer to the parents' concerns. I explained that due to the social handicaps, the autistic child could not see the sacrifices that their parents have made. However, they could see very clearly all the "bad" things that the parents have done. With that, I found words to describe my Social Accounting Model and its companion social skill strategy.

 

The Social Accounting Model posits that during social interaction, we are constantly crediting and debiting "social tokens" from other people's accounts through our actions and words. Here is a list of the common types of social token transactions:

Debits Credits
Failure
Loss
Extra Work
Extra Trouble
Emotional Hurt
Disinterest
Breaking Promises
Success
Gain
Reduction of Work
Avoidance of Trouble
Emotional Happiness
Interest
Fulfilling Promises

Let us take a situation where an autistic child demands that the mother buys a hamburger for him during lunch hour. As a result, the mother queued 20 minutes specially for the child. However, when the child receives the hamburger, his mother received no appreciation or gratitude. [Of course, she could train or force him to say "thank you", but it would not have make any difference.] In fact, he even grumbled that due to the wait, he was very hungry. Later, the child demands ice cream, and this time the mother refuses. The child throws a tantrum and complains about his mother.

 

I posit that in order for the people to appreciate gifts, the following conditions must occur:

Conditions Explanation
Knowledge of Situation The person must be aware of the situation that creates this social token exchange
Recognition of Value The person must value what is given
Recognition of Sacrifice The person must know that sacrifices are required to obtain this gift
Attribution of Sacrifice The person must understand that these sacrifices are incurred specifically for him
Memories of Previous Accounts The person must remember that such incidents have existed in the past in his life, so as to properly measure the value of the sacrifices
Immediate Emotional Impact The person must feel the emotional impact acknowledging the value of the sacrifices in order to transform this from mere acknowledgement to gratitude

Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

During the hamburger incident:

Conditions Child's Perspective Mum's Perspective
Knowledge of Situation I want a hamburger. My child wants me to buy a hamburger during the peak hour at lunch time.
Recognition of Value I like to eat hamburgers. My child will be happy, at least for a while.
Recognition of Sacrifice It is easy to get a hamburger - just go to the fast food restaurant. In order to get the hamburger, I must queue for 20 minutes. I must also spend some of my hard-earned money.
Attribution of Sacrifice I only think of the hamburger. I am not fully aware that I am demanding it from my mother. My child is the one who requires me to buy the hamburger.
Memories of Previous Accounts I asked for hamburgers before and I get them easily. My mother used to cook the meals for the family. She toiled for hours to buy food and cook it.
Immediate Emotional Impact I like the hamburger. Good. I am happy. I would feel thankful if I am in my child's place.

 

During the ice cream incident:

Conditions Child's Perspective
Some Knowledge of Situation I want an ice cream. Mum is stopping me from what I want.
Strong Recognition of Value Ice cream tastes nice. I must get it now.
No Recognition of Sacrifice It is easy to get ice cream - just open the fridge and grab.
No Attribution of Sacrifice I only think of the ice cream. I am not fully aware that I am demanding it from my mother.
Inappropriate Memories of Previous Accounts I asked for ice cream before and I get them easily.
Negative Immediate Emotional Impact I feel upset that Mum is not letting me get what I want. After all, it is so easy to just grab an ice cream from the fridge. Mum is bad.

 

Hence, the autistic child discounts positive social tokens while taking the negative ones at their face value. Over time, these negative tokens accumulate and lead the child to resent his parents and caretakers. The autistic individual then grows up believing that the whole world is forcing him to compromise every time and feeling unappreciated about his efforts since other people do not compromise for him.

Going back to the hamburger analogy, I continued to explain that even if the mother brought her child along to queue, it would not have helped. Rather than feeling empathy for having to queue for 20 minutes, the child will simply think that his mother has forced him into another unnecessary and unpleasant situation. "Why can't she just queue by herself? Why must I go along?"

Hence, I suggest that parents develop a PECS programme that explicitly trades social tokens with 2 open account books: one showing the credits the child has and the other showing the debits. Whenever they do any favor for the child, the child must be made aware that they owe a favor by having a record in the debit book. And if the child does a favor for the parent, this will go into the credit book. With that, both parent and child can reduce their misunderstandings.

Another extreme method I suggested is for the parents to employ a maid or helper who will play the "villain", thereby collecting all the negative social tokens. The "villain" will stage a situation where he or she stops the child from getting the child wants. The parents will then play the "heroes" who overrule the "villain" so that the child can get what he or she wants. The "heroes" will then make it clear to the child (perhaps with the PECS accounting system above) that they have just done a favor. When the "villain" has accumulated too many negative social tokens, he or she can be replaced with a new one.

 

After mentioning hatred, I would like to explore the topic of love which I believe that parents are equally concerned about. When I shared about autism, I have been asked if I love my mother. I could only answer the question as: "I do not love my mother the same way that other people love their mother. Yet, it does not mean that I do not love her." This is where I must make the distinction between what I will call collective love and individuated love.

Neurotypical children feel a special feeling that bonds them to their parents. This is difficult to place in words. It is as if a fondness rises from the heart, towards someone whose welfare we worry about, whose absence or death we will grieve and whose words are respected. This is a bond that makes another person special among all the people that we see everyday. During my teenage years and earlier, I have no idea that such a feeling exists. As such, I saw my mother as my boss and my sister as my colleague. I felt no bonds between us - only a one-way flow of instructions from my mother to me.

Yet to say that I do not love my mother would be a disservice to the truth. If I see my mother fall, I would like to help her up. If I see her being threatened, I would protect her. However, this is not because she is my mother, but because this is the right thing to do for another human being in distress. This is the kind of love that sees everyone as equally important and equally deserving of help.

As I could not feel emotional bonds, I did not draw distinctions between human beings. Everyone was as much a stranger or a friend as everyone else - the only difference is how much I already know about them. If not for instructions from my mother, I would treat everyone as equally trustworthy and help everyone I see.

 

In order for a person to feel the individuated love...

Firstly, he must be aware that he exists. If he does not know that he exists, no conscious knowing or desire can exist.

Secondly, he must be able to experience meaning. Self-consciousness does not equate self-awareness. A person may know that he exists, but he may not experience himself as existing. He may know that he has a body, emotions, thoughts, history and goals. However, these are meaningless if he does not experience them as his own. He may know that he lives in a family and has friends, but these are not his family or his friends.

Thirdly, he must in some way perceive the goodness, beauty and meaning of another person. [This perception is subjective and different for each person.] Only with this foundation can love form.

Fourthly, he must jointly participate in the personal story of another person, in the form of emotionally evoking activities or creating a positive change to a person's life in a significant manner. Joint participation changes infatuation into love.

Lastly, he must feel the subtle bonding emotions, such as those between mother and son. These bonding emotions complete the experience of love.

 

It is easy to utter "I love you", but to actually experience that is a different matter. It is easy to come to one's mother for food, directions and protection, but to experience her as a nurturing provider is a different matter. It is easy to perform the social rituals such as giving presents, but experience their essence is a different matter. Thereby, I ask readers to read beyond words and surface appearances, so as to see the true love of autism.

[ More Articles ]

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies