應付生活在不完美的世界裏的焦慮

[ 更多文章 ]

我過去常常感到非常焦慮以至於我木僵了,不知道該做什麼。每一件我所做的事都是錯的、不夠好或者很愚蠢。縱使我媽不斷的挑剔我做的一切,而我從沒做得對頭。 但過去5年我已經習得了一種從容的信心,相信生活中無論發生什麼事都會圓滿解決。甚至是當我身處一個新環境,我也不再感到恐懼。我的定心計得益於對生活和 人類存在目的的深度思考。

 

在青少年時期,我關心許多問題,像戰爭、貧窮、疾病、腐敗和社會不平等。我廣泛閱讀有關人類狀況的書籍,包括歷史、哲學和政治。慢慢地,我形成了對人類非常 壞的印象。事實上,我感到他們是宇宙中的浮渣。我為什麼要費心和浮渣交往?我越是排斥人類,人類就越排斥我。但最終,我發現了十條改變了我的生活並且使我 停止與人類抗爭的信念。

 

第一條信念是說生活並不向我們索取什麼。是我們,作為人類,在互相索取。是我們在要求每個人盡自己作為一個公民、雇員、家庭成員、信徒等等的責任。是我們在要求每個人遵守承諾和協議。是我們在要求每個人實施我們的權利(因為權利意味著責任)。我們的索取無窮無盡。

但宇宙並不在意我們的需求,有沒有我們都照樣運轉。就連生存欲望都不是必要的,它只是我們自己的需要。我們所需的取決於我們所看重的。一條狗看重它的骨頭, 而一隻猴子看重他的香蕉。我們人看重物質財富、成就和肯定等等。我們沒有興趣與狗狗爭骨頭,正像狗狗沒有興趣從我們手中搶金子。

儘管我們總是索取,我們終歸無法在死後將值錢的東西帶走。人固有一死。將聚斂的財富鎖入墓穴與我們腐爛的屍體同葬毫無必要,因為我們再也無法享用。

這就是為什麼我們可以允許自己停止向他人索取也停止向自己索取的原因。我們對這個世界沒有虧欠,世界也不虧欠我們。我們在此世上一無所有,世界也不擁有我 們。每一個新的時刻都是我們重新再生再選擇我們的生活目標及意義。這樣,我們可以重塑生活,擺脫過去的羈絆,不為別人的看法所左右。

但是,這不代表我們能夠忽視所有我們的承諾和義務。我們必須為我們的決定承擔後果,也必須適應實際生活的局限。即使我們不必承擔後果,我們仍然過不了良心這一關。為了一點物質利益或一時之歡而背叛自己是得不償失的。

 

第二條信念是,失敗或低人一等是一種主觀的看法。我們失敗只是由於我們的判斷,我們認為自己失敗了或者比別人差。如果 我們淡泊一切,那麼就不會失敗,因為我們對一切都可以泰然處之。失敗對於指導我們實現目標是有幫助的,但是它本性是空的。失敗沒有真實存在。將失敗當真只 會造成不健康的心理問題。因此,我們要允許自己不再將自己看作失敗者,並且從在過去感到的失敗中釋放出來。

我們也應該放棄關於別人是失敗者或低我們一等的看法。我們不知道 別人的命運會如何演變,就像不知道自己的未來必將發生什麼。我們不能完全理解別人的選擇,就像他們也無法完全理解我們的選擇一樣。我們無法知道別人生活的 意義之所在,就像我們一開始也不知道我們生活的意義之所在一樣。因此, 不要評判,因為我們不能看見生活的全景。讓我們每一個經驗都新鮮,不與過去糾葛。


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

第三條信念是,我們只能看到我們所相信的。量子物理已經顯示,連自 然界都是‘不真實的’,其他的就更不用說了。由於我們是用感官和大腦來認識世界的,我們的理解就不可能準確和客觀。因而,我們必須謹慎地選擇我們所相信事 物。你認為對媽媽一味順從就是好兒子嗎?你認為宗教是通往真理的唯一途徑嗎?你認為人不應當冒險嗎?我們會把我們的信念視作真理。

第四條信念是說,我們施予什麼就會得到什麼。我們與世界上每個人都有關,由於每個人都會影響到其他人,沒有 什麼事會是‘與我無關’的。全球經濟體系就是我們相互關聯的一個絕佳例證。然而,似乎有一個看不見的機制在起作用:我們施予的東西會通過生活的大網返還給 我們。施予還能夠扭轉我們的觀念,使我們明白我們並不缺什麼。因此,我們可以施予我們最寶貴的東西。

但是,選擇向誰、選擇施予什麼要謹慎明智。你想要給一個乞丐五美元,還是投資讓他建立公司從而能夠不再在大街上行乞?假設你是個乞丐,哪件禮物你更樂於接受?

 

第五條信念是,我們的問題已經有了答案,只是 我們沒有看到。答案還可能比料想的還更好,能同時解決了許多其他問題。有時候我們沒有意識到,我們想要的不一定是一輛汽車,而是便捷的交通。有時候我們並 不是真的想要更多的錢,而是在大自然中有一個漂亮的住宅。令我們困惑的可能不是答案,而是問題。所以,我們應當反思究竟什麼問題更重要,而不是糾纏於尚未 搞清的答案。運用自己的創造力,從新的角度解決問題,我就是這樣開始走上了自我覺醒的征途的。

第六條信念是,我們已經擁有我們所需的一切。人的欲望總是無窮無盡 的,我們總是覺得我們的生活還缺點什麼。實際上我們缺的是洞察力。在我們生命的這個階段,我們所擁有的已經足夠了。只要我們好好過日子,不走歪門邪道,這 就足夠了。我們不必嫉妒別人,因為他們也有他們的生活。我們也不必因為別人更富有或更有地位就認為他們比我們高貴。別人如何生活不關我們的事---我們只 需要過好自己的日子。因此,我們應當允許自己接受現有的生活狀態,同時力所能及地進行改善,以求有更多實現自我的空間。

 

第七條信念是說在這個地球上我們不必做任何事情。我們可以在生活範圍內想怎麼生活就怎麼生活,無論生活出現任何情況我們還是有無數的可能性可以選擇。因此,讓自己活得有意義就是最重要的。如果我們能為一個大於個體需要的目標而生活,我們的生活就變得很有了意義。沒有一個總體的目標使生活有序,我們的生活就不過是一個接一個的隨機事件的組合。因此,我們可以允許我們自己相信並實現別人認為不可能的事。

第八條信念是說生活不是一條從A到B的直線。相當程度上,生活更像一條蜿蜒的河,有許多轉折和扭曲。由於一些目標和責任可能會互相衝突,有時候我們必須忽略 某些目標和責任才能實現其他的。由於來自不同人們的指導會互相衝突,有時候我們必須忽略某些指導才能遵循另一些。如果我們堅持直直地走向我們的目標,我們 常發現自己陷在自己的生活狀態中無法自拔。如果我們讓生活帶我們繞繞道,我們可能會發現我們得到的比預料的還多。如果我們放棄或改變一些我們的目標,我們 可能發現我們最終得到更璀璨的成功。

第九條信念是說生活是豐富我們性格的機會。我們可能知道我們待人寬厚,但是如果我們不這樣去做,它就只是腦子裏的一個概念。我們可能知道我們有勇氣,但是如 果我們不去做需要勇氣的事情,我們就不會體會到勇氣。因此,我們應當允許自己在最大意義上實現真實的自我。只有這麼做,我們才認識到生活中的機會。但是, 成長並非易事。為了讓我們實現一些,我們必須放棄許多其他機會。只有感受到失去我們看重的事物的傷痛時,我們才能培養了性格。有成熟思想的人作決定時必須 接受有利就有弊這個原則。

 

第十條,並且是最重要的信念是說每件事都會有完美結局的。能發生在我們身上最糟的事是死亡。如果我們準備好受死了並且學會與死共存,我們就能信任生活,讓生 活向我們指明下一步路。因此,我們可以允許自己相信生活。通過在生活中與不可動搖的信念同在,最終所有的焦慮都將終結。

這10條信念終結了我的焦慮並帶我走出了人生最黑暗的歲月,希望這些也能幫到別人。

[ 更多文章 ]

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

Autism Anxiety:
Living in an imperfect world

[ More Articles ]

I used to feel anxiety so great that I froze and did not know what to do. Everything I did was wrong, not good enough or stupid. I never got anything right even though my mother constantly nagged me about what to do. Yet, over the past 5 years, I have developed a quiet confidence that everything will work out fine. Even when placed in a new situation, I no longer feel intimidated. My inner strength came from deep reflection about Life, and the purpose of human existence.

 

As a teenager, I was concerned about many problems, like war, poverty, diseases, corruption and injustices. I read extensively about the human condition, including history, philosophy and politics. Soon, I developed a very bad impression of Humanity. In fact, I felt that they are the scum of the universe. Why should I bother to connect with scum? Yet, the more I rejected Humanity, the more Humanity rejected me. Eventually, I discovered 10 beliefs that have changed my life and ended my struggle against Humanity.

 

The first belief is that Life requires nothing of us. It is we, human beings, that require something from each other. We require each other to fulfill our duty as citizens, employees, family members, worshippers etc. We require each other to fulfill promises and agreements. We require each other to fulfill our rights (since there can be no rights without obligations). There is no end to our requirements.

Yet the universe operates fine with or without our requirements. Even the desire for survival is not an absolute requirement, but our own requirement. What we require depends on what we value. A dog values his bones and a monkey values his bananas. We humans value material possessions, achievements, recognition etc. We have little interest in fighting with a dog over his bone, just as a dog has little interest in snatching gold bars from us.

Even if we require something from each other, we cannot carry our valuables with us when we die. Everybody must die someday. There is no point keeping a stash of treasures locked up in a tomb with our decaying bodies, when we have no means to use it.

This is why we can give ourselves permission to stop requiring things from other people, and to stop requiring things of ourselves. We owe nothing to the world, and the world owes us nothing. We own nothing in the world, and the world owns none of us. Every moment is a new time for us to choose and live what we now value, free from the constrains from the past and also from what other people think of us.

However, this does not mean that we can ignore all our promises and obligations. We must still live with the consequences of our choices and the limitations of our physical life situation. Even if we do not have to bear the consequences, we must still pay a price: "who we are". It is not worthwhile to betray ourselves for a little material gain or whim of fancy.

 

The second belief is that failure/inferiority is in the eye of the beholder. We fail only because we judged ourselves and decided that we have failed or are inferior. If we value nothing, then we cannot fail since everything will be fine with us. Failure is helpful to guide us towards achieving our goals, but it is not real. Making failure real will only create unhealthy psychological problems. Therefore, we can give ourselves permission to stop seeing ourselves as failures, and to let go of our past perceived failures.

We can also let go of seeing other people as failures or as inferior to us. We do not know what Life has in store for other people, just as we do not know what Life has in store for us. We do not fully understand why other people chose something, just as they would not fully understand why we chose something. We would also not know the true meaning of the experiences other people encounter, just as we may not initially know why we experience something in our life. Therefore, judge not, for we do not see the big picture of Life. Freshly experience each new experience, free from the events in our past.


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

 

The third belief is that we see what we believe in. Quantum Physics has shown that even physical reality is "unreal", let alone everything else. Since we perceive this world through our senses and mind, there is no fixed and objective interpretation of this world. Therefore, we must chose what we believe in carefully. Do we believe that a good son must always obey his mother? Do we believe that our religion is the only path to truth? Do we believe that we cannot afford to take any major risks in life? What we believe, we will see as truth.

The fourth belief is that we receive what we give away. We are linked to everyone else in the world. There is no such thing as "none of my business", since everyone affects everyone else. Our global economic system is a good example of how interlinked we have become. However, there is a hidden process at work that is difficult to explain: what we give away comes back to us through the interconnected web of Life. Giving away something that we thought we lack also changes our mindset and shows us that we do not really lack that something. Therefore, we can give away what we treasure most.

Yet, choose to whom and what we give away carefully and wisely. Do we wish to give a beggar $5, or invest in letting him set up a business so that he can stop begging on the streets? Which gift do you prefer to receive if you were the beggar?

 

The fifth belief is that we already have the answers to our problems; we have merely missed it. In fact, we may get more than we bargained for when the solution solves many other problems at the same time. Sometimes we do not realize that it is not necessarily that we want a car, when what we really want is fast and convenient transport. Sometimes, it is not more money that we really want, but a beautiful home in nature. It may not be the answer that is stopping us, but the question. Therefore, we can reflect on the question that matters, rather than the answer that we have yet to figure out. Exercising my power of creativity, of solving my problems in a new way, was what started me on my journey to self-awakening.

The sixth belief that we already have what we need. Human desire is insatiable, and we constantly find many things lacking in our lives. Yet it is our perception that is lacking. We have what we need to live at this stage in our life. As long as we are functional and able to live without betraying ourselves, this is good enough. We do not need to feel jealous of other people, since they also have what they need. Neither do we need to feel that other people are superior to us because they have more possessions or a higher status. How other people live their life is none of our business - our business is how we live our own life. Therefore, we can give ourselves permission to accept our life situation as it is now, and work within our power to change this situation towards one that gives us more room for self-expression.

Adding on to the sixth belief, I do not believe that power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. I also do not believe that people change (for the worse) because of power. Power merely amplifies our true character by allowing us to have the freedom to express ourselves in the material world. If we have a kind heart, no power in this world can ever take it away from us. However, if we have hidden emotional agendas or issues, the power we gain will expose them to the rest of the world, even as we blissfully remain unaware of them. I see nothing wrong with having material possessions and power; the risk is that one may unleash one's hidden emotional pains and problems on many innocent people.


The seventh belief is that there is nothing for us to do on Planet Earth. We are free to make what we wish to make with our life, and there are countless things we can do with our life. Hence, it is most important for us to live meaningfully. We can create meaning in our life by living for a life purpose larger than our own individual needs. Without a overarching Life Purpose to organize our life, we merely encounter a series of random experiences happening one after another. Hence, we can give ourselves permission to believe in and achieve what other people think is impossible.

The eighth belief is that Life is not a straight line from point A to point B. Rather, life is more like a winding river that takes many turns and twists. Since we may have conflicting goals and obligations, sometimes it is necessary to ignore some of them in order to fulfill others. Since we have conflicting instructions from different people, sometimes we must ignore some of them in order to obey the rest. If we insist on going straight towards our goals, we often find ourselves getting stuck in our Life Situation and unable to advance further. If we let Life take us on a few of the detours, we may find that we could achieve more than what we bargained for. If we let go of or change some of our goals, we may find that we succeed even more spectacularly in the end.

The ninth belief is that Life is an opportunity for us to grow our character. We may know that we are kind, but until we act with kindness, this is only a concept. We may know that we are courageous, but as long as we do not show it, we cannot experience it. Hence, we can give ourselves permission to live the Grandest Version of the Greatest Vision of who we are. Only by doing so can we realize the opportunities of life. Yet, growth is not easy. In order for us to achieve something, we must give up on many other opportunities. We grow our character when we experience the pain of losing something we value. A mature person must accept that the gains comes with the losses whenever he chooses.

 

The tenth, and very important belief is that everything will turn out perfectly. The worse that can happen to us is death. If we are prepared to die and live our lives with death in mind, we can place our trust in Life and let Life show us our next step. Therefore, we can give ourselves permission to trust in Life, and to end all anxieties by living with an unshakeable faith in Life.

These 10 beliefs have ended my anxieties and carried me through the darkest periods of my life. May they do the same for others too.

[ More Articles ]

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies