自我治療自閉症:我如何克服了20個主要問題

[ 更多文章 ] | 繼續: 跨出自閉症的一大步 | 請讀者也參考:家長自己動手的自閉症治療

自閉兒可不可以通過自我治療減輕自閉症狀呢?對我來說,答案肯定是可以。當然,我智商很高也沒有行為問題創造了對我很有利的條件。

我的困難主要在三個方面:

  • 認知:我在接收感官資訊和控制肢體動作方面有困難。我腦子裏缺乏一些必要的裝置或結構來幫助我應付對大多數人來說根本不是問題的日常生活。

  •  
  • 情感:我在情感的覺察和認知方面有困難,不知道如何表達和對待自己的感受。我感到恐懼,焦慮,厭惡周圍的人,厭惡這個世界。我缺乏做事情的內在動力。

  •  
  • 體驗:我缺乏那些可以幫助我認識自己的處境和周圍環境的實際經驗。自閉症使我在兒童期和青少年期無法獲得對環境的正常體驗,也就無法學到基本的社交和生活技能。
  Passing through the tunnel

已解決的問題

肢體僵硬:我以前不知道我擁有一個軀體,也不知道可以用直覺來控制它。因為我不知道怎樣才能讓身體‘放鬆’,所以即使我想鬆弛一下,我的身體也還是僵僵的像一段木頭。直到我接受了自己是地球人的幾年後,我才習慣了在自己的身體生活。在2010年7月,我參加了Feldenkrais的工作坊,成功地糾正了不良的身體姿態。

健康問題:我以前曾患兒童期哮喘,咽喉感染和消化不良。我的母親認為是嚴格的飲食管理(如:禁止黏喉嚨,甜,冰冷和含化學藥品的食品)加上每週兩次的游泳課治好了我的哮喘。我是在接受了自己的軀體、習慣了地球生活之後才好了起來的,不再隔幾個星期生一次病。

慢性疲勞:我的慢性疲勞問題既有生理因素也有心理因素。後來我對自己的生活方式做了一些重要的調整。結果,我的慢性疲勞在2010年1月完全消失。

 

決策困難:我過去不明白時間不僅僅是事件發生先後順序的紀錄;它實際上還有個人意義。因缺乏自我感,我那時候不會估計需要多長時間和精力才能完成一件事情。而且對我來說,任何(無論多荒謬的)事情發生的概率都是相等的。直到有一次寫作時,發現故事中的人物都復活了。我根本都不在寫故事,而只是描述發生的事情。在這個寫作的過程中,我明白了人類在地球生活的意義。

不能打斷活動或思考:過去我做事情時不能受他人打斷;否則我會忘記過程的步驟,需要費不少時間探索才能繼續做下去。如果一件事情沒有做完,我就會極為焦慮。這件事就會總是一直在我腦海裏提醒我。而現在,我對於被打斷的情況已經可以應付自如。因內心已經能接受即立即完成每一件事情是根本做不到的,我也不再為做不完的事情感到很難受。

笨手笨腳:我系鞋帶需要不少時間,常常弄灑飲料,還每年搞壞了好幾把雨傘。直到2005年的某一天,我不知道我生活在一個三維的實體世界裏。那時,我開始產生了物理直覺,使到大多數這類的問題都漸漸消失了。

感官敏感:我不喜歡噪音(如:交通或電視噪音),一些味道 (如:特殊的口感或味道)和碰觸(如:別人接觸我的身體)。但我習慣了自己的軀體後,這些問題都已漸漸正常化了。

眼神接觸:我的母親在我小時候就訓練我要面向和我說話的人,但我還是不明白“眼神接觸目”這個概念。我採取的辦法是,在距人眼很近的位置找一個高反差的物體,然後一直盯住它。我的感情本能啟動後,我現在也可以和他人維持眼神。


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

語義問題:我剛剛開始講話時時常會重複別人的話(即言語模仿症)。小學時,我總是長篇大論地講解我猜測是“正確”的答案。我開始能夠感受到自己的情感和直覺之後才能走出沒有意義的字體世界,體會生活在地球的意義。

說話問題:我以前不知道講話的目的是為了讓別人聽我說話。我也不知道如何使用膈膜,聲帶,下頜和舌頭。這造成了我很小聲說話。因不知道如何控制嘴唇,我說話時也一直漏風。上中學時,我掌握了嘴唇的控制,但還是時常答非所問。還好我開始演講之後,我改進自己的演示和行銷技巧所作出的努力已解決了大多的語言問題。

客觀思維:由於不懂得自我的存在,也不懂得自己的言行掌握在我手中,我無法從日常經歷中學習。我以為英文寫作的分數是靠運氣(如:我對該話題的熟悉程度)。我沒想到學習文章的結構和風格,還有糾正拼寫和語法錯誤能夠改善分數。後來我寫故事時故事人物復活後我才認識自我的存在,產生了自我認同後,這種情形才有了改變。

發呆+缺乏創造性:我的日常生活就像電腦運行程式;當遇到程式所不認識的意外事件時,我就會發呆,等候干預。後來我讀了一本心理學課本和一本速成學習法書本後,才明白了我其實是有選擇的自由的。這促使我改變了做法,不再坐等,而是主動地去尋求解決問題的方案。

內在動力:我小時候一心想的就是好好學習,有個好成績,因為這是母親教導我做的。在我讀以上兩本書之前,我不知道自己有選擇和決定權。有了“選擇”的概念之後,我才開始思考生活的道路應該如何走。自己有了決定權,做事就有了內在的動力。

 

客觀思維:過去我把人們不看作是人,而是看作物體或者是完成一件事情所需的工具。我判斷某些人、團體和親友的親疏遠近,是以他們是否符合我的計畫和要求。我關心的是最終的目標,而無視個人的快樂和福祉。我的觀念在2009年的下半年有了轉變:過程和目標同樣重要。單單為理想奮鬥是不足夠的;生活也要活得快樂和充實。

情感淡漠:我以前不知道我擁有感情。在小學時,我不會恨欺負我的人。我只把他們當著是帶來煩惱的東西,只需要回避就行。在我理解了“選擇”的概念之後,我才明白了這些人是在針對我。那時,我的心才開始感到傷害。但是,儘管我有受傷的感覺,我還是對自己的喜怒哀樂渾然不覺。我的感情仿佛是消失在我心中的一個“黑洞”裏了。但是我有幾次在夜裏突然醒來,毫無緣由地哭了幾分鐘。在2003到06年間,事情有了變化。那段時間我進入了“遲到的青春期”,體驗到了強烈的感情衝擊。隨著我的情感發育成熟,我已經可以通過歌曲和跳舞來自如地表達我的情感。

 

抑鬱:我曾經覺得我渴望的很多東西都無法得到,比如友情、尊重和財富。很多阿斯伯格人士都有這個問題。2002年在軍隊服役期間,我開始用想像的辦法來補償(比如:如果我想去一個海灘享受一下,我就閉上眼睛,想像著自己正在世界上最美麗的海灘上躺著)。這個問題最後是通過Byron Katie的方法徹底解決的。這個方法讓我明白了一個道理,就是獲得幸福和滿足是不需要擁有任何東西的。

焦慮:我以前焦慮情緒很嚴重。對此,我的解決辦法是改變我的信念

自負+排斥:我以前非常排斥周圍人的思想、文化和觀念。我認為我的觀點最正確,總想讓別人都和我一致。很多人因此而疏遠我,認為我太自負。我在做了情感釋放療法和採用Byron Katie的方法之後,這個問題得到了緩解。

缺乏耐心: 我以前總是忙個不停,拼命趕完許多事務。我總是覺得自己的人腦不夠用,無法吸收我需要的所有的知識。我也抱怨自己的軀體無法跟上思維。我盲目地追求遠大的抱負更加惡化了情況。但在2009年的下半年,我決定將自己的注意力放在最有可能實現的事情上,而不是著眼於最理想的情況。這就瞭解了這個問題。

自我治療的策略

我現在處理問題一般採取下面幾個策略:

1)動機:要想改造自己,首先我必須有一個理由。我必須感到是我自己有這個需要,而且是為了自己受益,而不是為了使別人滿意。

2)認識:我允許自己意識到和承認自己想要改變的問題。然後,我會仔細反省這個問題在過去對自己有哪些正面的和負面的影響,考慮它曾經有過什麼樣的作用,而現在又如何成了我前進路上的障礙。

3)根源:靠著自己的記憶、自我觀察、學習別人的做法、或者自己的頓悟, 我可以找到問題背後的原因以及它發生的模式。

4)解決:我會想辦法繞過問題,或者把它變成我的優勢,或者將它徹底改掉。這個解決方案必須是一勞永逸的或者是可持續的:它必須能夠永久性地和我的生活融為一體。

[ 更多文章 ] | 繼續: 跨出自閉症的一大步 | 請讀者也參考:家長自己動手的自閉症治療

新文章
自閉人士的故事寫作與創意
自我治療自閉症
跨出自閉症的一大步
有些自閉兒的家長也需要輔導
保險公司歧視自閉人士
自閉人士服兵役
自閉症財務計畫及金錢

DIY Autism Therapy: Overcoming 20 major problems

[ More Articles ] | Continued: One Giant Leap from Autism | Also read: DIY treatment for parents

Is it possible for children with autism to treat themselves and reduce their syndromes of autism? At least for my case, the answer is yes. Of course, the fact that I have no behavioral problems and a strong intellect has helped a lot.

I classify most of my handicaps into 3 categories:

  • Cognitive: I have difficulty maintaining my sensory inputs and controlling motor outputs. I lack the necessary mental equipment or frame of mind to deal with situations that most people would take for granted.
     
  • Emotional: I have difficulties being aware of, identifying, owning and constructing dealing with what I feel. I have fear, anxiety and distaste of the people and the world around me. I lack the motivation to deal with an issue.
     
  • Experiential: I lack the necessary experience to understand my situation or the world around me. Autism has deprived me of the typical experiences of a child and teenager, preventing me from learning many foundational social and bodily skills.
  Passing through the tunnel

List of Problems Resolved

Body Stiffness: I did not know that I had a body that belonged to me, and had no idea that I could make use of my instincts to control my body. Even when I wanted to loosen up, my body was stiff like wood because I did not know how to make it "relaxed". I only felt comfortable with my body only years after accepting my identity as a human being on Planet Earth. I successfully corrected my bad body posture by attending a Feldenkrais workshop in July 2010.

Poor Health: I used to have childhood asthma, throat infections and indigestion problems. My mother believed that strict abstinence from most foods (e.g. sticky, sweet, cold, containing artificial chemicals) as well the swimming lessons twice a week cured my asthma. I stopped getting sick every few weeks after I accepted my body and made myself at home on Earth.

Chronic Fatigue: A combination of physical and psychological issues caused my chronic fatigue issue, which completely lifted in January 2010 after I made significant changes to my life.

 

Poor Decision Making: I did not understand that time is not just a chronological record of events that happened, but actually had personal meaning. Thus, I could not make proper estimates of how much time and effort I needed to make to achieve something. I also believed that all possibilities are equally likely to occur. This changed when I had the experience of having my story characters writing the story via their own free will, giving me the understanding of the meaning of human life on Earth.

No Tolerance for Interruptions: I could not accept interruptions by other people. Once I lost track of what I was doing, it took me a long time to resume my previous activity again. I also felt strong anxiety whenever there is something I have not finished as that task kept appearing in my mind to remind myself. Nowadays, I can handle interruptions easily. I have also emotionally accepted the fact that I cannot possibly finish everything immediately.

Extreme Clumsiness: I took a long time to tie strings, often spilled drinks and broke many umbrellas. I did not understand that I lived in a 3 dimensional world with material objects until one day in 2005 when I spontaneously began to develop my Physics Instinct. Most of the clumsiness disappeared over the next few years.

Sensory Sensitivity: I have much problem with loud noise (e.g. from traffic, the TV set), taste (e.g. strange texture or taste) and touch (e.g. people touching me). My sensory issues spontaneously normalized after I felt comfortable with my human body.

Eye Contact: During early childhood, my mother trained me to turn my face towards the head of the person talking to me. However, I had no idea how to maintain eye contact. My strategy was to seek out a high contrast object near the person's eye and stare at it. After I activated my emotional instincts, I am able to do a "soft focus" onto another person's eyes after about a year of practice.


Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading... Loading...

Language Semantics: After I started speaking, I used to repeat words back to people (i.e. echolia). In Primary school, I was only able to give people long answers that are my best guesses to the "correct answer" or the context of the question. However, I made a breakthrough only as I started feeling my emotions and instincts. When I understood what it is like to be a human being living on Earth, the words filled with deep meaning.

Speech: I did not know that the purpose of speaking is to for other people to hear me. I was also unaware of how to control my diaphragm, vocal cords, jaws and tongue properly. As a result, I spoke in a soft whisper for much of my childhood, "leaking" my breath as I did not know how to close my lips. As I entered secondary school, I spontaneously learnt to close my lips but still have problems giving relevant answers. I made much improvement when I started giving speeches, as I worked to improve my presentation and marketing skills.

Self-Dissociation: Due to the lack of understanding that I exist and that I have responsibility for my actions, I was unable to learn from experience. I thought that my English composition results was a matter of luck (e.g. how familiar I am with the topic) rather than the result of the spelling or grammar mistakes I made as well as my plot and writing style. This continued until I had the experience of having my story characters writing the story via their own free will, giving me the direct understanding of the self/ego.

"Freezing" + Lack of Creativity: I operated much like a computer running a program - when I encountered an unexpected situation not accounted for in my program, I would freeze and wait for intervention. After I started reading a psychology textbook and an accelerated learning book (The Einstein Factor), I understood the concept of making my own choices. This allowed me to switch to a strategy of inventing a solution to unknown problems rather than simply freezing.

Inner Motivation: My sole mission during my childhood was to study and obtain good results, since this was what my mother told me to do. I did not know that I could make my own decisions until I read the 2 books above. After understanding the concept of "choices", I started to reflect on how I would like to lead my life. These decisions led me to motivate myself internally.

 

Impersonal Focus: I was unable to relate to people as people, but as objects or instruments to accomplishing a goal. People, groups and relationships are relevant or not relevant based on how they fit into my plans. I focused on objectives and goals without regard to personal enjoyment or welfare. This changed in late 2009 when I accepted the concept that the journey is as important as the destination, and that personal enjoyment is essential to living one's passion.

Emotional Disconnection: I was not fully aware that I own my emotions. During Primary school, I did not feel angry with the bullies for tormenting me because I merely considered them "unpleasant things" to avoid. After I understood the concept of "choice", I felt hurt because I also understood that people could target me personally. Despite the new awareness of hurt, I remained mostly unaware of my emotional state. In fact, my emotions seem to disappear into a "black hole" within me. However, I have had a few "crying attacks" which I would suddenly wake up in the middle of the night and cry for no apparent reason. This changed over the years 2003-2006, where I entered my "delayed teenagehood" and experienced intense emotions. As I mature fully, I can express my emotions freely through song and dance.

 

Depression: I felt that I have many things that I desire but are denied to me, such as companionship, respect, wealth etc. This problem is common to many people with Aspergers' Syndrome. When I started serving in the Army during 2002, I began using visualization as a substitute (e.g. if I wanted to relax on a beach, I would close my eyes and imagine myself relaxing at the most beautiful beach in the world). This issue is fully resolved with Byron Katie's work, with which I discover that there is nothing I need to be happy or satisfied.

Anxiety: I felt intense anxiety and only resolved these by changing my beliefs.

Arrogance + Rejection: I strongly rejected the thinking, culture and understanding of the people around me. I believed that I know best about everything, and I expect everyone to agree with me. This caused many people to reject me and label me as arrogant. This problem was greatly minimized by (emotional) releasing and resolved with Byron Katie's work.

Impatience: I felt very rushed to do as many things as possible. My human mind was not powerful enough to assimilate all the knowledge I needed, and my human body was unable to keep up with my mind. This problem was aggravated by my desire to achieve ambitious dreams, and was only resolved when I decided to focus only on what is possible for me to attain rather than what is ideal in late 2009.


DIY Therapy Strategy

This is usually how I now deal with issues that I encounter.

1) Motivation: I must have a reason to change myself, before the change can happen. I must feel that I am making the change for myself, not for the sake of other people.

2) Recognition: I allow myself to notice the issue and recognize it as a problem that I would like to change. I reflect on how the problem has affected my life in the past, both in a positive and negative manner. I reflect on how the problem has served me in the past, and how it is preventing me from achieving what I wish to achieve.

3) Insight: Through memories, self-monitoring, other people's works or a sudden flash of understanding, I learn about the causes and the modus operandi of the problem.

4) Solution: I find a way to either work around the problem, change it to my advantage or eliminate it. The solution has to be either permanent or sustainable: I must be able to integrate this into my life forever.

[ More Articles ] | Continued: One Giant Leap from Autism | Also read: DIY treatment for parents

New Autism Articles
DIY Autism Therapy
One Giant Leap from Autism
Some parents also need therapy
Financial Planning
Story Writing & Creativity for Autistics
Using Facebook for Aspies